Inter-club Competition


The Obut Cup competition (or Winter League) became the de facto inter-club competition in Wellington. In the winter of 2003, a formal Inter-club competition, modelled on the Auckland inter-club event, was trialled. Subsequently the event was moved to the summer to take advantage of the better weather.

The competition is for teams of six players who each play a match of Singles, Doubles and Triples against the similarly ranked player(s) in the opposing team.

Initially, the playing format was a single round-robin with the tournament winner being the club which gains the most points over the course of the competition. Since 2008, the clubs have been allocated to zones (played on a round-robin basis) followed by a knockout competition between the zones.

Playing Format

2016 Inter-club competition

Draw and Results

Score Sheets

The score sheets provided are to be completed by the person in charge of each team and the results sent to Graeme Morris as soon as possible after the day’s play. (Download scoresheet (MS Word 45kB)