News Archive - February 2021

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

WPA Regional Triples - Entries

11 February 2021

Fourteen teams have entered the Regional Triples Championship to be held at the Horowhenua Pétanque club this weekend (13-14 February).

  1. Paul Bonsey (Upper Hutt)/Adrienne Gwerder (Upper Hutt)/David Gwerder (Upper Hutt)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Enoka Smiler (Naenae)/Monica Smiler (Naeanae)
  3. Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)/Lee Taffard (Hataitai)/Nico Toyne (Hataitai)
  4. Debby Butler (Kapiti)/Jo Maxwell (Kapiti)/Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)
  5. David Corley (Manawatu)/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)/Judith Smith (Manawatu)
  6. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Murray Porter (Khandallah)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  7. Christine Daykin (Manawatu)/Peter Foxall (Manawatu)/Willie Tipene (Manawatu)
  8. Ngaire Eriksen (Horowhenua)/Jan Haumaha (Horowhenua)/Judy Tyree (Horowhenua)
  9. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)/Brett Maguire (Kapiti)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  10. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Mary Joblin (Wanganui East)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  11. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  12. Kathy Gatford (Kapiti)/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)/Bronwyn Ritchie (Kapiti)
  13. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)
  14. Adele Legge (Horowhenua)/Marilyn Trembath (Horowhenua)/Tony Trembath (Horowhenua)

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy Draw

11 February 2021

The draw for Round 28 was conducted at Horowhenua Petanque Club, Wednesday 18 November 2020, at WPA Senior Doubles.

Trophy Holder


Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy: Draw for Round 28
28.4Upper HuttAway
28.7Wanganui EastAway

Note: The venue is for the Challenger.

WPA Regional Triples

15 February 2021

Fourteen teams took part in the Regional Triples Championship at Horowhenua. The format was the usual 5 round Snake (Random draw) on the Saturday. No team went through undefeated and five teams finished on four wins.

On Sunday, the top eight teams split into two pools of four (round robin), while the remaining six teams played another 3 round Snake to determine the seedings for the afternoon knockout.

Three of Saturday's top four teams made it through to the Championship semi-finals. Steve, Brett and Alan's place was taken by the fifth seeds (and defending champions) Annick, Christine and Claire.

The Trophy final featured Moises, Lee and Nico against Myles, Murray and Michael. The former had won the two previous encounters over the weekend but with the scores tied at 8-8 at the 75 minutes time limit, it all came down to the final end. Myles pointed close to the cochonnet twice and the Moises, Lee and Nico were only able to eliminate the first boule.

Myles and Michael have now won six Regional Triples titles with six different partners.

The Plate was won by Kathy, Tony and Bronwyn who beat Dave, Shirley and Graeme in the finall.

Full results

WPA Champion of Champions - Triples

25 February 2021

Seven clubs are taking part in the Champion of Champions Triples at Kapiti this Sunday.

  1. Horowhenua: Dave Gatchell/Allan Hall/Judy Tyree
  2. Upper Hutt: Moises Burgos/Dave Gwerder/Brian Smith
  3. Otaki: Diane Brunton/Gary Brunton/Val Clark
  4. Silverstream: Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn/Graeme Pilcher
  5. Kapiti: Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford/Annick Le Guen
  6. Naenae: Enoka Smiler/Monica Smiler/Bruce Stephensen
  7. Manawatu: Chris Dunn/Barry Hunt/Donna Hunt