News Archive - March 2020

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

Naenae Leap Day Doubles

2 March 2020

Twenty-four teams took part in the Naenae Leap Day Doubles. The format was a 5-round Swiss of 1 hour games.

Heavy showers meant that the lunch break was taken early, with the afternoon clearing to a fine day.

The final round saw the two undefeated teams, Grant Bray/Moises Burgos and Ken Benn/David Smart face off for first place. Grant & Moises took out the game to claim the top prize, with Ken and David in second.

Ngaire Erikson/Judy Tyree pipped Adele Legge/Marilyn Trembath on SOSS points to claim third prize.

Hopefully, we will not have to wait another four years before Naenae run another Doubles.

Final results

Regional Mixed Doubles Championship

5 March 2020

Twenty-six teams took part in the second Regional Mixed Doubles Championship at the Manawatu club. The format was a 4-round Snake followed by knockout in sections of eight teams.

Dispite an early slip, the defending Champions, Michelle Maxwell/Lee Taffard, battled their way through to the final, where they faced the undefeated Claire Bradburn/Dave Gatchell.

Michelle and Lee prevailled to win their second Mixed Doubles title.

The Plate was won by Christine Strichen/Andrew Joe from Christine Daykin/Peter Foxall. The Bowl was won by Beryl Cowan/Bill Ray who defeated their clubmates Margaret Pomana/Kevin Simpson.

The Bottle section was won by Ngaire Erikson/Marc Khull from Noeline Corley/David Corley.

Final Results

Horowhenua Mad March Hair Mêlée - Entries

5 March 2020

  1. Linda Gazzard
  2. Jack Gazzard
  3. June Cody
  4. Barry Cody
  5. Ngaire Erickson
  6. Patricia Galbraith
  7. John Galbraith
  8. Susan Robertson
  9. Tony Rothnie
  10. Marilyn Trembath
  11. Tony Trembath
  12. Adele Legge
  13. Janet Frost
  14. Alan Frost
  15. Chris Dunn
  16. Carolyn Graham
  17. Sue Boaden
  18. Bruce Stephenson
  19. Alan Graham
  20. Barbara Smith
  21. Liz Donaldson
  22. Valerie Van der Donk
  23. Val Clark
  24. Shirley Fraser
  25. Don Fraser
  26. Janet Hall
  27. Allan Hall
  28. Shirley Peard
  29. Lynne Shepherd
  30. Peter Traffe
  31. Lee Straw
  32. Richard Turfrey
  33. Shirley MacDonald
  34. Val Tollinson
  35. Mel Stevenson
  36. Carleen Fitzgerald
  37. Bruce McDonald

Horowhenua Mad March Hair Mêlée - Results

14 March 2020

  1. Carolyn Graham
  2. June Cody
  3. Carleen Fitzgerald
  4. Alan Frost
  5. Don Fraser
  6. John Galbraith
  7. Adele Legge
  8. Richard Turfrey

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles

14 March 2020

Nineteen teams have entered the 18th Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles (Sunday, 15 March) at Maidstone Park

  1. Kevin Bateman/Jackie Holland (Naenae)
  2. Fran Beach/Bev Plowman (Upper Hutt)
  3. Alan Boaden/Terry Coleman (Naenae)
  4. Sue Boaden/Nadia Brown (Naenae)
  5. Paul Bonsey/Adrienne Gwerder (Upper Hutt)
  6. Anday Brewer/Lee Matthewman
  7. Moises Burgos/Dave Gwerder (Upper Hutt)
  8. Damien Comeloup/Christophe Vesse (Hataitai)
  9. Barry Cody/Jack Gazzard (Kapiti)
  10. June Cody/Linda Gazzard (Kapiti)
  11. Erica Drake (Hataitai)/John Pryer (Khandallah)
  12. Allan Frost/Janet Frost (Manawatu)
  13. Simon Grant/Bruce Stephenson (Naenae)
  14. Bob Horton/Dave Wilmshurst (Upper Hutt)
  15. Lin Jackson/Judy Stewart (Naenae)
  16. Joy Jordan/Bob Joyce (Upper Hutt)
  17. Doc Murray/Julien Teni (Upper Hutt)
  18. Lois Rowe (Upper Hutt)/Judith Smith (Manawatu)
  19. Kathy Taylor/Alison Zuppicich (Upper Hutt)

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles

15 March 2020

Nineteen teams took part in the Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles at Maidstone Park. Unlike last year the weather came to the party.

In the final round the two undefeated teams, Moise Burgos/Dave Gwerder and Damien Comeloup/Christophe Vesse faced off to claim first place with Moises and Dave winning the match 13-6.

Paul Bonsey/Adrienne Gwerder pipped Bob Horton/Dave Wilsmhurst to claim third prize.

Final results

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

16 March 2020

Kapiti fourth defence (second this year) of the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy was at home.

The challenger team (Horowhenua) had a good start winning two of the three first round games. Horowhenua won two more games in the second round forcing Kapiti to win all three games of the last round to keep the trophy. Kapiti did exactly that to hold the trophy 5-4.

Kapiti next defence is away at Upper Hutt.

| Result | Previous history |

Tournament Cancellations

16 March 2020

Given the latest announcements by the Government on Coronavirus (COVID-19) and the restrictions that sporting associations are placing on their competitions it is prudent for the Wellington Petanque Association (WPA) to review its position on upcoming tournaments.

It has therefore been decided by WPA to postpone the WPA Women’s Doubles, Triples and Singles competitions. Our position will be reviewed at the end of March and then at regular intervals as the picture on COVID-19 becomes clearer.

This is something that the WPA Executive has not taken lightly but with all players health and safety being paramount we feel it is the sensible decision to make.

Those players who have already paid the entry fee for the upcoming women’s tournaments, these fees will be retained by the Association and if, when rescheduled, you are unable to play your entry fee will be refunded.

The WPA would also strongly recommend that Clubs who are holding tournaments in the next 1-2 months review their position and postpone their tournaments and look to reschedule at a later date.

Kevin McFadgen

Sinclair Memorial Doubles and Otaki Easter Mêlée - News

22 March 2020

The Sinclair Memorial Doubles tournament has been postponed and the Otaki Easter Mêlée has been cancelled due to COVID-19.

Jacques Cochonnet Challenges

24 March 2020

Given the escalation in COVID-19 and also that a number of Wellington clubs have already closed their club to play, the WPA has decided to postpone all future Jacques Cochonnet challenges until further notice.

This decision will be reviewed at the end of April and thereafter at the end of every month. Thank you for your patience.

Kevin McFadgen