News Archive - February 2020

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

WPA Senior Doubles - Results

10 February 2020

The WPA Senior Doubles was played last November at Otaki. The Championship final featured Christine Daykin/Marc Khull and Margaret Pomana/Tony Simpson. In a very close final Margaret and Tony beat Christine and Marc 13-12.

The Plate was won by Monica Smiler and Enoka Smiler over Kathy Gatford and Tony Gatford.

The Bowl was won by Louise Rose and Bill Ray over Liz Donaldson and Barbara Smith.

Final results

WPA Regional Triples - Entries

10 February 2020

Twleve teams have entered the Regional Triples Championship to be held at the Manawatu Pétanque club this weekend (15-16 February).

  1. David Corley/Noeline Corley/Judith Smith (Manawatu)
  2. John Galbraith/Patricia Galbraith (Masterton)/Derek Cooper (Manawatu)
  3. Peter Foxall/Donna Hunt/Christine Daykin (Manawatu)
  4. Graeme Morris (Masterton)/Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  5. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Bethne Gardner/Barry Hunt (Khandallah)
  6. Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)/Annick LeGuen (Kapiti)
  7. Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)/Ngaire Eriksen (Horowhenua)/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  8. Yvonne Futcher/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)/Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)
  9. Sheryl Parslow/Mary Joblin/Louise Rose (Wanganui East)
  10. Ann Peck/Shirley Madgwick/Bill Ray (Wanganui East)
  11. Michelle Maxwell/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)/Ann Hogg (Horowhenua)
  12. Judy Tyree/Jan Haumaha/Janet Hall (Horowhenua)

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

12 February 2020

Kapiti defence of the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy was away at Wanganui.

The home team had a good start winning two of the three first round games. Kapiti came back strong in the second round winning all three games. Kapiti won three more games in the last round to hold the trophy 7-2.

Kapiti next defence is at home against Horowhenua.

| Result | Previous history |

WPA Regional Triples - Results

22 February 2020

Twelve teams took part in the Regional Triples at Manawatu. In the trophy final Claire Wilson, Christine Strichen and Annick LeGuen beat Ann Hogg, Michelle Maxwell and Alan Taylor.

Dave Gatchell/Vaughan Husband/Graeme Morris and Claire Bradburn/Bethne Gardner/Barry Hunt ended up third equal.

The Plate was won by David Corley, Noeline Corley and Judith Smith.

Final Results

WPA Mixed Doubles - Entries

25 February 2020

Twenty-seven teams have entered the Regional Mixed Doubles Championship to be held at the Manawatu Pétanque club on Sunday, 1 March.

  1. Annick LeGuen/Steve Frampton (Kapiti)
  2. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Andrew Joe (Hataitai)
  3. Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)/Brett Maguire (Kapiti)
  4. Patricia Galbraith/John Galbraith (Masterton)
  5. Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)/Lee Taffard (Hataitai)
  6. Beryl Cowan/Bill Ray (Wanganui East)
  7. Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East)/Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)
  8. Margaret Pomana/Kevin Simpson (Wanganui East)
  9. Yvonne Futcher/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  10. Sheryl Parslow/Paul Anderson (Wanganui East)
  11. Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  12. Shirley Madgwick/Wayne Goodman (Wanganui East)
  13. Ann Hogg/Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)
  14. Janet Frost/Alan Frost (Manawatu)
  15. Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  16. Ngaire Eriksen (Horowhenua)/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  17. Noeline Corley/David Corley (Manawatu)
  18. Debby Butler (Kapiti)/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  19. Donna Hunt/Chris Dunn (Manawatu)
  20. Christine Daykin/Peter Foxall (Manawatu)
  21. Lee-Anne Bird/Alan Moss (Wanganui East)
  22. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Dave Gwerder (Upper Hutt)
  23. Sheryl McFadgen/Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)
  24. Sharon Cannon (Khandallah)/Brian Smith (Upper Hutt)
  25. Mary Joblin/Ken Haywood (Wanganui East)
  26. Fiona Miller/Brent Taylor (Manwatu)
  27. Judith Smith/Derek Cooper (Manwatu)