News Archive - December 2019

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

Wellington Open Triples - Entries

10 December 2019

Twenty-four teams have entered the Wellington Open Triples at Otaki this Saturday (14 December).

  1. Ian Baine/Jean Baine/Doc Murray
  2. Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Moises Burgos/Dave Nicholls
  3. Claire Bradburn/Rachel Clarke/Mary Willmer
  4. Grant Bray/Shelton Bray/Nico Toyne
  5. Debby Butler/Adrienne Gwerder/David Gwerder
  6. Tony Chin/Dirk Winnie/Ants Yee
  7. Derek Cooper/Devendra Dabeedoal/Susan Gibson
  8. Beryl Cowan/Alan Moss/Maureen Moss
  9. Christine Daykin/Pauline Foxall/Peter Foxall
  10. Liz Donaldson/Don Fraser/Barbara Smith
  11. Erica Drake/Andrew Joe/Christophe Vesse
  12. Ngaire Erikson/Marc Khull/Richard Turfrey
  13. Carleen Fitzgerald/Frances Johns/Shirley Peard
  14. Steve Frampton/Ann Hogg/Shirley MacDonald
  15. Shirley Fraser/Carolyn Graham/Val Long
  16. Yvonne Futcher/Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen
  17. John Galbraith/Patricia Galbraith/Ralph Priddle
  18. Dave Gatchell/Vaughan Husband/Graeme Morris
  19. Colin Gooch/Michael Gooch/Peter Gooch
  20. Janet Hall/Jan Haumaha/Judy Tyree
  21. Marie Jones/Marilyn Trembath/Tony Trembath
  22. Annick Le Guen/Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson
  23. Anne Peck/Bill Ray/Louise Rose
  24. Murray Porter/Michael Rocks/Brian Smith

Wellington Open Triples

15 December 2019

A record twenty-four teams took part in the Wellington Open Triples at Otaki. The previous record was twenty-two which has been achieved twice before (2006, 2018).

Three teams were undefeated after the four qualifying games: Murray Porter/Michael Rocks/Brian Smith and Steve Frampton/Ann Hogg/Shirley MacDonald had 4 wins, while Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Moises Burgos/Dave Nicholls had 3 wins and a draw.

After lunch, the teams were split into 3 sections for the knockout (Trophy, Plate and Bowl).

Steve, Ann and Shirley were bundled out by Nagire Erikson, Marc Khull and Richard Turfrey. Murray, Michael and Brian almost joined them after trailing Erica Drake, Andrew Joe and Christophe Vesse for most of the match before picking up a 2 on the final end to win 9-8.

In the final, Murray, Michael and Brian beat Grant Bray, Shelton Bray and Nico Toyne 13-5 to retain the title they won last year.

The Plate section was won by Tony Chin, Dirk Winnie and Ants Yee 13-4 over Anne Peck, Bill Ray and Louise Rose.

The Bowl section was narrowly won by Derek Cooper, Davendra Dabeedoal and Susan Gibson 13-11 over Debby Butler, Adrienne Gwerder and Dave Gwerder.

Final Results

PNZ National Senior Doubles

21 December 2019

Congratulations to Dave Gatchell and Lee Taffard who won the PNZ National Senior Doubles at Hibiscus Coast (Orewa). In the Championship final, Dave and Lee beat Ian Baker and Pam Jenkins 13-10.

WPA Regional Seedings

22 December 2019

The Regional Seeding points have been updated using the results from the 2019 Regional Doubles.

Regional Seedings

WPA Regional Senior Doubles Championship

27 December 2019

The video of the 2019 Regional Senior Doubles Championship final at Otaki between Christine Daylin/Marc Khull and Margaret Pomana/Tony Simpson is now on YouTube.

Representative Team

27 December 2019

Ten Wellington Region players, plus one in the Reserves, have been included in the Trans-Tasman team to play against Australia in Christchurch next March.

Open Men

Moises Burgos, Jared Handford, Stephane Montel, Junior Puleitu, Nico Toyne, Brian Westerbeek.

Open Women

Sharon Cannon, Annick Le Guen, Joanne Lippard, Christine Strichen, Kathleen Wallace, Claire Wilson.

Senior Men

Ian Baker, Dave Gatchell, Bill Peachey, Richard Swaney, Lee Tafford, Paul Tamagushiku. Reserve: Ray Pierce.

Senior Women

Claire Bradburn, Robyn Chalmers, Bethne Gardiner, Angela Maxted, Jay Newton, Ann Shields. Reserve: Ann Hogg.

Moises Burgos, Jay Newton and Brian Westerbeek will be making their international debut.

Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples

27 December 2018

The video of the 2019 Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples final is now on YouTube.

Wellington Open Triples

31 December 2018

The video of the 2019 Wellington Open Triples final played at Otaki is now on YouTube.