News Archive - September 2018

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

WPA Regional Singles Championship

12 September 2018

Thirty players have entered the WPA Regional Singles Championship at Kapiti this weekend (15-16 September 2018).

  1. Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  3. Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)
  4. Morgan Choveaux (Hataitai)
  5. Derek Cooper (Manawatu)
  6. David Corley (Manawatu)
  7. Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  8. Ngaire Eriksen (Horowhenua)
  9. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)
  10. Dene Futcher (Wanganui East)
  11. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)
  12. Kathy Gatford (Kapiti)
  13. Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  14. Ken Heywood (Wanganuui East)
  15. Ann Hogg (Otaki)
  16. Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  17. Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  18. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  19. Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)
  20. Shirley Madgwick (Wanganui East)
  21. Brett Maguire (Kapiti)
  22. Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)
  23. Linda Millard (Upper Hutt)
  24. Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  25. Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  26. Enoka Smiler (Naenae)
  27. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)
  28. Nico Toyne (Hataitai)
  29. Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  30. Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)

WPA Regional Pointing Competition

12 September 2018

Sixteen players have entered the inaugural WPA Regional Pointing Competition at Kapiti this weekend (14-16 September 2018).

  1. Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  3. Morgan Choveaux (Hataitai)
  4. David Corley (Manawatu)
  5. Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  6. Kathy Gatford (Kapiti)
  7. Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  8. Ann Hogg (Otaki)
  9. Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  10. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  11. Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)
  12. Shirley Madgwick (Wanganui East)
  13. Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)
  14. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)
  15. Nico Toyne (Hataitai)
  16. Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)

WPA Committee meeting

19 September 2018

The next WPA Committee meeting will be held on Saturday, 13 October at the conclusion of the Regional Doubles at Horowhenua. This replaces the meeting scheduled for 8 November at Silverstream.

Hawke’s Bay Classic Doubles

20 September 2018

Forty teams took part in the twenty-second edition of the Hawke’s Bay Classic Doubles at the Napier City P├ętanque club.

Like last year, the first day’s qualifying play was in pools, this time eight pools of five teams which meant that each team only played 4 competition games and sat out a Bye. Some teams took the opportunity to arrange unofficial games with other teams having the Bye.

In the Trophy section, the defending champions Lee Taffard & Nico Toyne were beaten by Junior Puleitu & Georgio Vakauta in the semi-final. Junior and Georgio went on to defeat Michelle Maxwell and Graeme Morris in the final.

The Plate section was won by John & Mary Church. The Bowl was won by Barb & Murray Johnston and the Consolation was won by Arnold Lander & Josie Parkin.

Final Results

WPA Regional Pointing Competition

21 September 2018

Nico Toyne with Graeme Millard

Sixteen players took part in the WPA Regional Pointing Competition at Kapiti.

David Corley (35) and Nico Toyne (34) topped the scoring after the qualifying round.

In the final on Sunday, Nico scored 36 against David’s 22 to claim the inaugural Regional Pointing title.

Final Results