News Archive - October 2018

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

Ted Burr

2 October 2018

Ted Burr (Otaki)
Champion of Champions Singles winner 2013

It is with sadness that we report the death of Ted Burr yesterday at the Palmerston North Hospice.

Ted was a frequent competitor on the Wellington scene and a regular member of the Otaki Inter-club and Jacques Cochonnet teams.

Our deepest sympathies are offered to Ted’s family.

Champion of Champions Singles

5 October 2018

Eight clubs are represented at the Champion of Champions - Singles at Naenae.

  1. Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East)
  2. David Corley (Manawatu)
  3. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)
  4. Colin Gooch (Upper Hutt)
  5. Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)
  6. Graeme Pilcher (Silverstream)
  7. Enoka Smiler (Naenae)
  8. Nikki Trotter (Kapiti)

WPA Committee meeting

6 October2018

The Agenda for the WPA Committee meeting to be held on Saturday, 13 October at the conclusion of the Regional Doubles at Horowhenua.

WPA Regional Shooting Competition

6 October 2018

The video of the 2017 WPA Regional Shooting Competition final between Morgan Choveaux and Nico Toyne is on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.

WPA Champion of Champions Singles

8 October 2018

Eight clubs were represented in the Champion of Champions Singles which was played at the Naenae Petanque club. The final was won by Colin Gooch (upper Hutt) who beat Regional Singles Champion, Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua).

Final results

WPA Regional Doubles Championship

10 October 2018

Twenty-five teams have entered the WPA Regional Doubles Championship at Horowhenua this weekend (13-14 October).

  1. Paul Anderson/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  2. Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  3. Grant Bray/Annick LeGuen (Kapiti)
  4. Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)/Lee Taffard (Hataitai)
  5. Sharon Cannon (Wanganui East)/Murray Porter (Khandallah)
  6. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper (Manawatu)
  7. David Corley/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  8. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  9. Christine Daykin/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  10. Pauline Foxall/Peter Foxall (Manawatu)
  11. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)/Ann Hogg (Otaki)
  12. Dene Futcher/Ken Heywood (Wanganui East)
  13. Yvonne Futcher/Mary Joblin (Wanganui East)
  14. John Galbraith/Patricia Galbraith (Masterton)
  15. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  16. Carolyn Graham/Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)
  17. Dave Gwerder/Linda Millard (Upper Hutt)
  18. Jan Haumaha/Judy Tyree (Horowhenua)
  19. Anthony Kittow/Fiona Kittow (Horowhenua)
  20. Adele Legge/Tony Rothnie (Horowhenua)
  21. Brett Maguire (Kapiti)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  22. Graeme Morris (Masterton)/Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  23. David Smart/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  24. Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)
  25. Marilyn Trembath/Tony Trembath (Horowhenua)

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

19 October 2018

Otaki’s fifth defence of the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy was away at Masterton.

Unfortunately, the trip back from the Wairarapa was a little lighter than journey over as they had to leave Jacques behind. Masterton won the match 6 games to 3.

Masterton’s first defence is at home to Wanganui East.

| Result | Previous history |

WPA Regional Shooting Competition

22 October 2018

The video of the 2018 WPA Regional Shooting Competition final between Annick Le Guen and Michael Rocks is on YouTube.