News Archive - November 2018

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

Khandallah 3 Boules Triples

7 November 2018

Eleven teams have entered the Khandallah 3 Boules Triples this Saturday (10 November). Another entry to avoid a Bye would be appreciated.

  1. BDP Ltd - Paul Bonsey/Bob Horton/Dave Wilmshurst
  2. Colynjoy - Colleen Horton/Joy Jordan/Lynley Watt
  3. Grinners - Moises Burgos/Adrienne Gwerder/Dave Gwerder
  4. Happy Naenae Petanquers - Anne Grant/Simon Grant/Bruce McDonald
  5. les enfants terrible - Doc Murray/Kathy Taylor/Alison Zuppicich
  6. Les Trois Amis - Erica Drake/John Pryor/Christophe Vesse
  7. Naenae Ladies - Lin Jackson/Robin Mann/Judy Stewart
  8. TBC - Wayne Green/Margaret Logan/Jean Phipps
  9. The Pink Ladies - Debbby Butler/Jo Maxwell/Michelle Maxwell
  10. Three Musketeers - Geoff Brown/Linda Brown/Len Cogger
  11. un, deux, trois - Carleen Fitzgerald/Margaret Mordecai/Barbara Nicholls

WPA Representative Teams

15 November 2018

The Wellington teams to play Canterbury and Southern in the annual Tri-Star tournament at Horowhenua (24-25 November) are:

Wellington Gold

Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt), Steve Frampton (Kapiti), Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua), Ann Hogg (Otaki), Vaughan Husband (Manawatu), Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti).

Wellington Black

Trish Biddle-Amoroa (Wanganui East), Debby Butler (Kapiti), David Corley (Manawatu), Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East), Tony Gatford (Kapiti), Shirley MacDonald (Otaki).

Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples

15 November 2018

Twenty-five teams have entered the Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples at Wanganui East this weekend (17-18 November).

  1. Paul Anderson/Margaret Pomana/Kevin Simpson
  2. Lee-Anne Bartrum/Eddie King/Sandee Robb
  3. Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Vaughan Husband/Michelle Maxwell
  4. Cheryl Billing/Chris Billing/John Galbraith
  5. Grant Bray/Moises Burgos/Nico Toyne
  6. Gary Brooker/Marilyn Trembath/Tony Trembath
  7. Debbie Butler/Dave Gatchell/Tony Simpson
  8. Sharon Cannon/Myles Cowper/Michael Rocks
  9. Athena Christodoulaki/Marilyn Horton/Louise Sligo
  10. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper/Paul Husband
  11. David Corley/Noeline Corley/Judith Smith
  12. Beryl Cowan/Dene Futcher/Sheryl Parslow
  13. John Church/Mary Church/ Patricia Galbraith
  14. Christine Daykin/Pauline Foxall/Peter Foxall
  15. Ngaire Erikson/Wayne Goodman/Flo Madgwick
  16. Steve Frampton/Ann Hogg/Shirley MacDonald
  17. Yvonne Futcher/Sheryl McFadgen/Richard Turfrey
  18. Bethne Gardiner/Barry Hunt/Tony Mudgeway
  19. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford/Lynne Shepherd
  20. Kerry Gillam/Bill Ray/Louise Rose
  21. Dez Grant/Brett Maguire/Sarah-Jane Wright
  22. Margaret Harkness/Robin Johnson/Pam Nicholson
  23. Ken Heywood/Mary Joblin/Anne Peck
  24. Annick Le Guen/Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson
  25. David Lippard/Joanne Lippard/Andre Noel

Khandallah 3 Boules Triples

16 November 2018

Eleven teams had entered the Khandallah 3 Boules Triples on Saturday, 10 November. After the weather-forced postponement, nine teams took part on Sunday.

Doc Murray was also unable to play, so tournament organiser Michael Rocks took his place.

Four players from the Probus group who play at Waitangi Park, joined forces with Wayne Green to compete in their first tournament. The 3 Boules Triples is a good introduction, being a relaxed event with everyone guaranteed a prize.

Final Results

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

22 November 2018

Masterton’s first defence of the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy was at home to Wanganui East.

The home team started strongly winning the three first round games. In the second round Masterton took an unbeatable lead as Wanganui East could only win the Singles game

Wanganui East won the Doubles game in the third round as Masterton wrapped up the match 7 games to 2.

The draw for the next round of the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy will be made at the WPA Meeting on 8 December.

| Result | Previous history |

Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples

23 November 2018

The video of the 2018 Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples final is now on YouTube.

Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples

24 November 2018

Twenty-five teams took part in the Pete Hamilton Memorial Triples, formerly the Wanganui East Open Triples.

Two teams were undefeated after the five qualifying rounds on Saturday (Beryl Cowan/Dene Eryl Futcher/Sheryl Parslow and Sharon Cannon/Myles Cowper/Michael Rocks).

On Sunday morning, the top 16 teams from Saturday were placed into 4 pools of four and the upsets started early. Sharon, Myles and Michael (2) lost their unbeaten record in the first game to Annick, Christine and Claire (8).

Debby, Dave and Tony (12) tipped out Steve, Ann and Shirley (3), while John, Mary and Patricia (7) suffered a similar fate to Trish, Vaughan and Michelle (10).

Andre Noel, Joanne & David Lippard

The Trophy final saw Debby Butler, Dave Gatchell and Tony Simpson against former multiple champions (although not together) David Lippard, Joanne Lippard and Andre Noel.

David, Joanne and Andre took the early lead, only for Debby, Dave and Tony to equalise after Andre suffered a bad cramp in his throwing hand.

The cramp overcome, David, Joanne and Andre went on to win the match 13-3.

The Trophy Consolation was won by Steve Frampton, Ann Hogg and Shirley MacDonald. The Plate by Tony Gatford, Lynne Shepherd and Peter Taaffe. Kerry Gillam, Bill Ray and Louise Rose won the Bowl.

Final Results

Dene, Beryl, Sheryl, Roly & Jack

Pete’s best mate Roly (Warren Rohloff) commissioned Jack Michalski to create a suitable Trophy in honour of The Pieman.

After much debate, a wooden pie, carved out of Totara, was fashioned into The Pieman Trophy, which will be awarded to the top placed Wanganui East club team in the tournament.

The inaugural winners were Beryl Cowan, Dene Futcher and Sheryl Parslow, who made the quarter-finals in the Trophy section.

Tournament report in the Whanganui Chronicle.

WPA Regional Doubles Championship

24 November 2018

The video of the 2018 WPA Regional Doubles Championship final at Horowhenua between Moises Burgos/Lee Taffard and Myles Cowper/Michael Rocks is now on YouTube.