News Archive - May 2018

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

WPA Regional Women’s Singles Championship

5 May 2018

Thirty players took part in the Regional Women’s Singles Championship at Horowhenua. Two players who had registered withdrew due to illness. This was the largest entry since 2006.

After the morning qualifying rounds, three players Annick Le Guen, Claire Bradburn and Claire Wilson were undefeated with four wins.

In the afternoon, the top eight qualifiers went into the Trophy section, the next eight went into the Plate section, the next eight into the Bowl and the final six went into the Bowl Consolation.

In the Trophy final, 2013 champion Annick Le Guen beat first-time finalist Ngaire Erikson 13-9.

The Plate final was won by Trish Biddle-Amoroa over Barbara Nicholls. The Bowl was won by Michelle Maxwell from Lee-Ann Bartrum. The Bowl Consolation was won by Judy Tyree from Debby Butler.

Final results

PNZ National Triples Championship

5 May 2018

The video of the 2018 PNZ National Triples Championship final at Manawatu is now on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

10 May 2018

The Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy has moved on once more. Hataitai, fresh from their victory over Kapiti, lost their first defence away at Otaki 2-7.

Otaki’s first defence is away at neighbours, Horowhenua.

| Result | Previous history |

Notice of Annual General Meeting

13 May 2018

Notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting of the Wellington Pétanque Association (Incorporated) will be held at 1:00 pm on Saturday, 16 June 2018 at the Horowhenua Pétanque Club, Western Park, Tiro Tiro Road, Levin.

Business to be transacted will include:

  1. President’s report for the year ended 30 April 2018
  2. Presentation of the financial statements for the year ended 30 April 2018
  3. Approval of affiliation fees
  4. Election of President, Secretary and Treasurer
  5. Presentation of Subcommittee reports
  6. Life Membership


Any Club or member wishing to have a remit or motion presented to the AGM should submit it to the Secretary as soon as possible, and by 26 May 2018 at the latest.

A further notice advising the details of any remits/motions will be sent to Clubs two weeks in advance of the AGM.

Officer Nominations

The closing date for nominations is 26 May 2018. Position descriptions President (190kB), Secretary (189kB) and Treasurer (189kB).

Murrayfield Open Triples

17 May 2018

Twenty-six teams have entered the Murrayfield Open Triples at Otaki this Sunday (20 May 2018).

  1. Paul Anderson/Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  2. Maurice Belz/Sharon Cannon/Lee Taffard (Bay View)
  3. Paul Bonsey/Bob Horton/Dave Wilmhurst (Upper Hutt)
  4. David Bosley/Barbara Lucas/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  5. Diane Brunton/Liz Donaldson/Joan Judd (Otaki)
  6. Moises Burgos/Len Cogger/Dave Gwerder (Upper Hutt)
  7. Debby Butler/Josephine Maxwell/Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)
  8. Eddie Campbell/Linda Gazzard/Dave Kitchener (Kapiti)
  9. John Church/Mary Church (Turangi)/Colleen Horton (Upper Hutt)
  10. Barry Cody/June Cody/Jack Gazzard (Kapiti)
  11. Wayne Goodman/Mary Joblin/Shirley Madgwick (Wanganui East)
  12. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper/Paul Husband (Manawatu)
  13. David Corley/Noeline Corley/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  14. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)/Peter van Heusden (Hataitai)
  15. Jennifer Dolan/Don Fraser/Shirley Fraser (Otaki)
  16. Ngaire Eriksen/Marilyn Trembath/Tony Trembath (Horowhenua)
  17. Carleen Fitzgerald/Jo Anne Hayward/Barbara Nicholls (Horowhenua)
  18. Peter Foxall/Ron Sandilands/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  19. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  20. John Galbraith/Patricia Galbraith (Masterton)/Carolyn Graham (Otaki)
  21. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Ann Hogg (Otaki)/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  22. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford/Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  23. Anne Grant/Simon Grant/Robin Mann (Naenae)
  24. Julie MacDonald/Beth Miles/Judith Williamson (Kapiti)
  25. Brett Maguire/Sheryl McFadgen/Peter Taffe (Kapiti)
  26. Graeme Millard/Linda Millard/Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)

Murrayfield Open Triples

22 May 2018

Lee, Sharon & Maurice

Twenty-six teams took part in the ninth Murrayfield Open Triples at Otaki. Thankfully, the forecast showers stayed away, so everyone was able to enjoy the games without the hassle of rain.

Maurice Belz, Sharon Cannon and Lee Taffard were the only team to go through undefeated. Second place was claimed by Kathy Gatford, Tony Gatford and Lynne Shepherd.

The other prize winners were: Carleen Fitzgerald, Jo Anne Hayward and Barbara Nicholls; Anne Grant, Simon Grant and Robin Mann; and Graeme Millard, Linda Millard and Doc Murray.

Final Results | Previous Winners

Kapiti Open Doubles

27 May 2018

The video of the 2018 Kapiti Open Doubles final is now on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.