News Archive - January 2018

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

PNZ National Doubles Championship

5 January 2018

The video of the 2017 PNZ National Doubles Championship final at Kapiti is on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.

Khandallah Mixed Doubles

10 January 2018

Fifteen teams have entered the Khandallah Mixed Doubles this Saturday (13 January). An extra team to avoid a Bye would be appreciated. Please contact Michael Rocks.

  1. Ian Baine/Jean Baine (Upper Hutt)
  2. Kevin Bateman/Jackie Holland (Naenae)
  3. Paul Bonsey/Lynley Watt (Upper Hutt)
  4. Moises Burgos/Kathy Taylor (Upper Hutt)
  5. Alan Cameron/Sue Gibson (Manawatu)
  6. Erica Drake (Hataitai)/Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)
  7. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  8. Simon Grant/Robin Mann (Naenae)
  9. Wayne Green/Alison Zuppicich (Upper Hutt)
  10. Adrienne Gwerder/Dave Gwerder (Upper Hutt)
  11. Bob Horton/Colleen Horton (Upper Hutt)
  12. Elaine Hunt/Dave Wilmshurst (Upper Hutt)
  13. Lin Jackson/Darryl Yuile (Naenae)
  14. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  15. Graeme Millard/Linda Millard (Upper Hutt)

Khandallah Mixed Doubles

14 January 2018

2018 Khandallah Mixed Doubles participants

Fifteen teams took part in the Khandallah Mixed Doubles.

After a week of wet weather, Saturday dawned fine and calm.

The team with the Bye had the option of playing Tournament Director, Michael Rocks, on the narrow spare piste to try an improve their points differential. To make it more of a challenge for both teams, Michael only played with 3 boules.

Ian and Jean took up the challenge in round one and won 13-5. In round two, Graeme and Linda decided to bank the points (13-7). Alan and Sue tried the challenge in round 3 and dropped a point winning 13-8.

After the three rounds of qualifying, three teams finished with three wins: Kevin and Sheryl, Graeme and Linda and Moises and Kathy. They were joined in the Trophy knockout by Ian and Jean. The extra 2 points didn’t affect the standings.

The Trophy final featured the current WPA President playing against the immediate past WPA President. Kevin and Sheryl took the Trophy with a 13-4 win over Graeme and Linda.

| Final results | Previous results |