News Archive - February 2018

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

NZ International Open Triples

5 February 2018

Forty teams took part in the twenty-second NZ International Open Triples at the Herne Bay club in Auckland. This year there were players from Australia, France, New Caledonia and Tahiti along with local players from Auckland to Christchurch.

Three players from Wellington took part: Myles Cowper and Michael Rocks teamed with Maurice Belz and finished runners-up in the Trophy Consolation.

Nico Toyne teamed up with Jared Handford (Christchurch) and Junior Puleitu (Vikings) and they reached the Trophy final where they faced the New Caledonian team of George Nauta, Alain Vautier and Bernard Yao.

In front of a large and appreciative crowd Jared, Junior and Nico became the second New Zealand team to win the NZ International Open.

Final results

Champion of Champions - Triples

9 February 2018

Six clubs (Horowhenua, Kapiti, Manawatu, Naenae, Otaki, and Upper Hutt) are taking part in the Champion of Champions Triples at Otaki (Saturday, 10 February).

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy Draw

9 February 2018

The Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy draw for Round 25 was made at the WPA Committee meeting on Thursday, 8 February.

Trophy Holder


Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy : Draw for Round 25
25.7Upper HuttHome
25.9Wanganui EastAway

Note: The venue is for the Challenger.

Champion of Champions - Triples

12 February 2018

Six clubs took part in the Champion of Champions - Triples at Otaki. The Naenae triple of Enoka Smiler, Monica Smiler and Tangi Rasmussen started strongly winning their first four games. Despite losing their final game, they still finished a point ahead of Kapiti and Upper Hutt.

Final results

WPA Regional Triples Championship

13 February 2018

A small field of fourteen teams are taking part in the WPA Regional Triples Championship at Manawatu this weekend (17-18 February 2018).

  1. Paul Anderson/Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Debby Butler (Kapiti)/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  3. Grant Bray (Kapiti)/Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)/Lee Taffard (Hataitai)
  4. Alan Cameron (Manawatu)/Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  5. Sharon Cannon (Wanganui East)/Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  6. Derek Cooper/Christine Daykin/Paul Husband (Manawatu)
  7. David Corley/Noeline Corley/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  8. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)/Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  9. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Monica Smiler (Naenae)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  10. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Ann Hogg (Otaki)/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  11. Susan Gibson/Judith Smith/Jan Willis (Manawatu)
  12. Ken Heywood (Wanganui East)/Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  13. Annick LeGuen (Kapiti)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)
  14. Brett Maguire (Kapiti)/Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)

Obut Boules and Accessories - New Zealand

15 February 2018

Richard Browne of Ashburton has taken over the distribution of Obut Boules and Accessories from David Parr (Carterton).

Richard can be contacted on 021-0294-1234 (email:

WPA Regional Triples Championship

19 February 2018

Fourteen teams took part in the Regional Triples Championship at Manawatu. Saturday was the usual 5-round random draw to make the top 8 teams.

Sharon Cannon, Myles Cowper and Michael Rocks were the only team to register 5 wins. In second place was Grant Bray, Moises Burgos and Lee Taffard. These two teams went through unbeaten to the Trophy final on Sunday afternoon.

Grant, Moises and Lee had several opportunities to take a healthy lead, but couldn't capitalise and soon found themselves being ground down in a battle of attrition. Down 5-12, they fought back but were eventually undone falling 11-13.

This was Myles and Michael’s fifth Triples title with a new partner each time.

Claire Bradburn, Debby Butler and Vaughan Husband won the Trophy Consolation. Yvonne Futcher, Monica Smiler and Alan Taylor took out the Plate.

Final results

WBS Open Triples

26 February 2018

Eleven teams took part in the twenty-first WBS Open Triples at the Masterton Pétanque club. The small entry meant that every team played every other team, with the top two teams playing off for the WBS Open Triples title.

Last year’s champions Maurice Belz, Myles Cowper and Michael Rocks were unbeaten in the round-robin, qualifying for the final with two rounds to spare.

At the end of the tenth round, four teams were still in the running to play them in the final. As luck would have it, the four teams faced each other in round eleven. In one game Bethne/Barry/Lee played Moises/Morgan/Nico and in the other game Sharon/Murray/Brian played Barb/Joan/Ralph.

Sharon/Murray/Brian won their game and Bethne/Barry/Lee won the other. Sharon/Murray/Brian had beaten Bethne/Barry/Lee in round 8, so they went through to the final for the fourth consecutive year.

Anyone who has seen the movie Groundhog Day may have pinched themselves over the two finalists. Both teams had qualified for the final in 2016 and 2017, with Maurice, Myles and Michael narrowly winning both encounters.

Sadly for Sharon, Murray and Brian it will be another year as runners-up as they lost the final 2-13.

Full results