News Archive - October 2017

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

WPA Champion of Champions Singles

2 October 2017

Seven clubs were represented at the Champion of Champions Singles played at the Upper Hutt Pétanque club.

Alan Taylor (Kapiti) repeated his win of 2015, although this time it was on tie-break from Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt).

Final results

PNZ National Singles Championship

7 October 2017

Six Wellington region players are among the 38 taking part taking part in the National Singles Championship in Dunedin this weekend (7-8 October).

  1. David Beer (Alexandra)
  2. Maryon Beer (Alexandra)
  3. Karen Bensdrop (Ashburton)
  4. Neville Bensdrop (Ashburton)
  5. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  6. Richard Browne (Ashburton)
  7. Sharon Cannon (Bay View)
  8. Julie Carrick (Caversham)
  9. Robyn Chalmers (Herne Bay)
  10. Les Clearwater (Christchurch)
  11. Branko Cvjetan (Caversham)
  12. Keith Dixon (Christchurh)
  13. Bruno Falco (Christchurch)
  14. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)
  15. Neville Frost (Dunedin City)
  16. Jackson Gallagher (Caversham)
  17. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)
  18. Kay George (St. Kilda)
  19. Janet Goodin (Caversham)
  20. Jan Guilford (Ashburton)
  21. Richard Hambleton (Taieri)
  22. Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  23. Jared Handford (Christchurch)
  24. Ann Hogg (Otaki)
  25. Nick Jegousse (Southland)
  26. Phillip Lyall (Dunedin City)
  27. Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)
  28. Warren McConnell (Dunedin City)
  29. Gretchen Preston (Taieri)
  30. Mark Richardson (Dunedin City)
  31. Erik Ross (Taieri)
  32. Nadine Simpson (Caversham)
  33. Karen Stephen (Christchurch)
  34. Tom Stratton (Taieri)
  35. Paul Tamagushiku (Christchurch)
  36. Mavis Thompson (Timaru)
  37. Annette Williams (Taieri)
  38. Mervyn Wilson (St. Kilda)

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

10 October 2017

Manawatu’s third Cup defence was away at Kapiti. Unfortunately, things didn’t start well as they lost all three first round games.

In the second round, Kapiti again won all three games to reclaim the Trophy. In the third round, Manawatu won the Doubles game. The final score was Manawatu 1, Kapiti 8.

Kapiti’s first defence is at home to Masterton.

| Result | Previous history |

WPA Regional Shooting Competition

11 October 2017

Fifteen players will take part in the WPA Regional Shooting Competition at the Kapiti Petanque club this weekend.

  1. Maurice Belz (Hataitai)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  3. Grant Bray (Kapiti)
  4. Sharon Cannon (Wanganui East)
  5. Morgan Choveaux (Hataitai)
  6. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)
  7. Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  8. Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  9. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  10. Brett Maguire (Kapiti)
  11. Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)
  12. Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  13. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)
  14. Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  15. Nico Toyne (Hataitai)

WPA Regional Doubles Championship

11 October 2017

Twenty-one teams are taking part in the WPA Regional Doubles Championship at the Kapiti Petanque club this weekend (14-15 October).

  1. Ian Bailey/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  2. Maurice Belz (Hataitai)/Sharon Cannon (Wanganui East)
  3. Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  4. Grant Bray/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  5. Kevin Bryan/Alan Cameron (Manawatu)
  6. Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)/Brian Smith (Masterton)
  7. Morgan Choveaux/Nico Toyne (Hataitai)
  8. David Corley/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  9. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  10. Brian Frampton (Kapiti)/Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)
  11. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)/Ann Hogg (Otaki)
  12. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  13. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  14. Linda Gazzard/Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  15. Susan Gibson/Judith Smith (Manawatu)
  16. Shirley Madgewick/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  17. Brett Maguire (Kapiti)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  18. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  19. Barbara Nicholls (Otaki)/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  20. Tangi Rasmussen/Monica Smiler (Naenae)
  21. Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)

WPA Regional Doubles Championship

16 October 2017

Regional Doubles participants

Twenty-one teams took part in the Regional Doubles Championship at Kapiti, which was three less than last year.

The usual five round Snake (random draw) format was played on Saturday. Three teams, Myles Cowper/Michael Rocks, Steve Frampton/Ann Hogg and Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson, went through undefeated.

Sunday saw the top eight teams battle it out for the Trophy, the next eight for the Plate and the remaining teams faced off in the Bowl.

Myles and Michael maintained their unbeaten record in the morning round. Steve and Ann lost one game and were the third team on points differential in their pool when three of the four teams finished with two wins.

Christine and Claire lost two games to drop down to the Trophy Consolation.

The Trophy final featured Myles and Michael against Moises Burgos and Brian Smith. A see-saw battle saw Moises and Brian take a 4-0 lead, only for Myles and Michael to come back at 5-4. Moises and Brian went to 7-5, before a unfortunate ricochet saw them drop 4 points to go behind 7-9.

The next end saw Myles and Michael pick up another 4 to win the match 13-7.

The Trophy Consolation final was won by Steve Frampton/Ann Hogg 13-9 over Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson.

The Plate final was won by Dave Gatchell/Pete Hamilton 13-8 against Brett Maguire/Tony Simpson. Brian Frampton/Shirley MacDonald won the Plate Consolation 13-10 against Yvonne Futcher/Alan Taylor. The Bowl was won by Barbara Nicholls/Trish Smart.

Final results