News Archive - February 2017

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

Mike Towart

8 February 2017

Mike Towart at the
2013 Kapiti Super Seniors

It is with sadness that we report the death of Mike Towart, a long-term member of the Otaki Pétanque club.

Mike was a frequent competitor on the Wellington scene and a regular member of the Otaki Inter-club and Jacques Cochonnet teams.

Our deepest sympathies are offered to Mike’s family.

WPA Champion of Champions - Triples

11 February 2017

Ken Benn, Kevin Bryan and Ron Sandilands

Five clubs (Kapiti, Manawatu, Otaki, Upper Hutt and Wanganui East) took part in the Champion of Champions Triples at Otaki.

The Manawatu team of Ken Benn, Kevin Bryan and Ron Sandilands went through undefeated to claim the title. However, it was a close run thing. In round 3 they played Wanganui East (Trish Biddle-Amora, Pete Hamilton and Richard Turfrey) and won 13-12.

Final results

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

13 February 2017

Otaki’s hold on the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy was short-lived. In their first defence, Otaki faced Wanganui East at home and were overwhelmed 8-1.

Wanganui East’s first defence will be at home to Kapiti.

| Result | Previous history |

WPA Regional Triples Championship

16 February 2017

Seventeen teams have entered the WPA Regional Triples Championship this weekend (18-19 February).

  1. Paul Anderson/Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)/Monica Smiler (Park Avenue)
  3. Grant Bray (Kapiti)/Ann Hogg (Otaki)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  4. Kevin Bryan/Pauline Foxall/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  5. Alan Cameron/David Smart/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  6. Eddie Campbell/Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  7. Sharon Cannon/Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)
  8. Morgan Choveaux/Nico Toyne/Dirk Winnie (Hataitai)
  9. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper/Paul Husband (Manawatu)
  10. David Corley/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  11. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  12. Christine Daykin/Peter Foxall/Judith Smith Manawatu)
  13. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)/Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  14. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Brett Maguire (Kapiti)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  15. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)/Ron Sandilands (Manawatu)
  16. Linda Gazzard/Jo Maxwell/Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  17. Marc Khull (Manawatu)/Barbara Nicholls (Otaki)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles

17 February 2017

Upper Hutt have received the maximum twenty entries for their Swiss Doubles on 12 March. Any further entries will be placed on a waiting list.

  1. Ian Baine/Jean Baine (Upper Hutt)
  2. Ken Benn/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  3. Paul Bonsey/Wayne Green (Upper Hutt)
  4. Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  5. Ted Burr/Val Clark (Otaki)
  6. Alan Cameron/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  7. John Clarke/Bruce Miller (Upper Hutt)
  8. June Cody/Jack Gazzard (Kapiti)
  9. Len Cogger/Bob Horton (Upper Hutt)
  10. David Corley/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  11. Shirley Fraser/Don Fraser (Otaki)
  12. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  13. Linda Gazzard/Jo Maxwell (Kapiti)
  14. Colin Gooch/Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)
  15. Dave Gwerder/Adreinne Gwerder (Upper Hutt)
  16. Eric Herbert/Julian Teni (Upper Hutt)
  17. Elaine Hunt/Jeanne Zee (Upper Hutt)
  18. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  19. Bev Plowman/Lynley Watt (Upper Hutt)
  20. Kathy Taylor/Alison Zuppicich (Upper Hutt)

WPA Regional Triples Championship

24 February 2017

Contestants in the 2017 Regional Triples Championship

Seventeen teams took part in the WPA Regional Triples Championship at Horowhenua, an increase of four teams from 2016.

The weather forecast was a 90% chance of rain and thunderstorms. At the start of round 4, there were a couple of thunder claps, but the rain thankfully stayed away.

Saturday’s play was the traditional 5-round random draw to determine the team rankings.

Two teams went through the day undefeated: Sharon Cannon, Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson topped the rankings with Grant Bray, Ann Hogg and Annick Le Guen in second place. (Day One rankings)

The curse of the undefeated qualifiers struck again on Sunday. Sharon, Christine and Claire were unable to win a game all day. Likewise, Grant, Ann and Annick crashed out of the Trophy section in the morning. However, they did regroup in the afternoon to win the Trophy Consolation.

In the Trophy section, Morgan, Nico and Dirk were undefeated in reaching the Championship final were they faced the defending champions Myles, Pete and Michael.

Myles, Pete and Michael took an early lead, only to see Morgan, Nico and Dirk claw their way back and eventually win 13-7.

Final Results