News Archive - December 2017

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

Super Seniors Mêlée

1 December 2017

What a great day this was. There were 32 players taking part and I believe everyone would agree it was very enjoyable.

Five games were played, with a break for lunch after the first three games. The break was a welcome relief for some, as it was a hot day.

There are certainly some characters amongst the various clubs and they added to the already friendly atmosphere.

The eventual winners were:

  1. Liz Donaldson
  2. Robin Mann
  3. Marlene Barker
  4. Doc Murray and Lynne O’Connor

The good sport award - Peter Taafe.

Report: Marlene Baker

Hawke’s Bay Classic Doubles

2 December 2017

The video of the 2017 Hawke’s Bay Classic Doubles final is on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

4 December 2017

Kapiti’s second defence was at home to Hataitai. Like the previous match Kapiti started strongly winning all three first round games.

In the second round, Kapiti won two of the three games to retain the Trophy. In the third round, Hataitai won two games to close the gap. The final score was Kapiti 6, Hatitai 3.

This was the final match in Round 24. A new draw will made at the next WPA Committee Meeting on 8 February 2018.

| Result | Previous history |

WPA Open Triples

6 December 2017

Twenty-one teams have entered the WPA Open Triples this Saturday (9 December) at Otaki. An extra team to avoid a Bye would be appreciated. Please contact Graeme Morris (027-247-9370).

  1. Ian Bailey/Alan Cameron/Vaughan Husband (Manawatu)
  2. Trish Biddle-Amoroa/Shirley Madgewick/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  3. Grant Bray (Kapiti)/Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  4. Moises Burgos (Upper Hutt)/Morgan Choveaux (Hataitai)/Nico Toyne (Hataitai)
  5. Ted Burr/Val Clark/Liz Donaldson (Otaki)
  6. Len Cogger/Doc Murray/Dave Wilmshurst (Upper Hutt)
  7. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper/Don Thompson (Manawatu)
  8. David Corley/Noeline Corley/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  9. Ngaire Erikson/Tony Rothnie/Ady Wrennall (Horowhenua)
  10. Margaret Foote/Marilyn Trembath/Tony Trembath (Horowhenua)
  11. Steve Frampton (Kapiti)/Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  12. Don Fraser/Shirley Fraser/Lynne O’Connor (Otaki)
  13. John Galbraith/Patricia Galbraith (Masterton)/Susan Robertson (Horowhenua)
  14. Linda Gazzard (Kapiti)/Barbara Nicholls (Otaki)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  15. Susan Gibson/Judith Smith/Jan Willis (Manawatu)
  16. Dave Gwerder/Graeme Millard/Linda Millard (Upper Hutt)
  17. Carleen Fitzgerald/Shirley Peard/Patrick Scarlett (Horowhenua)
  18. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Ann Hogg (Otaki)
  19. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford/Jan McCarthy (Kapiti)
  20. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)
  21. Brett Maguire/Michelle Maxwell (Kapiti)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)

WPA Open Triples

10 December 2017

Chrsitine, Claire and Annick

Twenty-one teams took part in the fifteenth annual WPA Open Triples. After three years at Manawatu, the Triples returned to Otaki for the second time.

The morning saw the teams play 4 games (snake/random draw) to determine rankings for the afternoon knockout sections. Games were 50 minutes, plus 1 end, which meant that you had to get going right from the outset.

In the afternoon, the top 8 teams played in the Trophy, the next 8 in the Plate and the final 5 in the Bowl.

The Trophy final was won by Annick Le Guen, Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson 13-8 against Grant Bray, Pete Hamilton and Michael Rocks.

The Plate was won by Trish Biddle-Amoroa, Shirley Madgewick and Richard Turfrey 13-5 over Steve Frampton, Shirley MacDonald and Graeme Morris.

Yvonne Futcher, Dave Gatchell and Ann Hogg won the Bowl 13-4 against Don Fraser, Shirley Fraser and Lynne O’Connor.

Final results

Champion of Champions Doubles

23 December 2017

A belated congratulations to Moises Burgos and Dave Gwerder (Upper Hutt) who won the Champion of Champions Doubles at Otaki.

Final results

Representative Team

28 December 2017

Eleven players and one coach from the Wellington region will be involved in the 2018 Trans Tasman match in Tauranga next March.

Open Men

Jared Handford (Christchurch), Stephane Montel (Christchurch), Tom Paulo (Panmure Pioneers), Adelys Taraunu (Panmure Pioneers), Nico Toyne (Hataitai), Georgio Vakauta (Vikings)

Andrew Mailei (Panmure Pionners) is the coach.

Open Women

Sharon Cannon (Wanganui East), Pam Jenkins (Herne Bay), Annick Le Guen (Kapiti), Sutima Paijit (Christchurch), Christine Strichen (Wanganui East), Claire Wilson (Wanganui East)

Graeme Morris (Masterton) is the coach.

Senior Men

Neville Frost (Dunedin City), Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua), Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Bill Peachey (Hibiscus Coast), Lee Taffard (Bay View), Mervyn Wilson (St Kilda)

Murray Porter (Bay View) is the coach.

Senior Women

Claire Bradburn (Silverstream), Marilyn Bunce (Alexandra), Ann Hogg (Otaki), Shirley MacDonald (Otaki), Angela Maxted (Kennedy Park), Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)

Jean Parley (Stanley Bay) is the coach.

Jared Handford and Nico Toyne previously played in the NZ Junior team against Australia in 2008. Jared was a member of 2010 Pan Pacific team. Sutima Paijit will make her international debut against Australia. Lee Taffard and Ann Hogg are playing for the Senior team after previously being in teh Open team.

Oceania Championship

28 December 2017

The video of the 2017 Oceania Championship Men’s Doubles Quarter-final match between NZ (Adelys Tarauni/Georgio Vakauta) and Tahiti (Kevin Bocahut/Damas Make) is on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.