News Archive - June 2016

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

Masterton Midwinter Doubles

2 June 2016

Twenty-six teams have entered the seventeenth annual Masterton Midwinter Doubles at Clareville over Queen's Birthday weekend (4/5 June).

The field contains two time winners Joan Miller/Claire Wilson and Denise Bavidge/Geoff Greer. The defending champions, Dez Grant/Sarah-Jane Wright are looking to become the first team to win consecutive titles.

Of the previous winners, Brian Smith is looking for his fourth title, this time with Murray Porter. Brian’s three previous wins have been with different partners. (Previous winners)

  1. Jason Andersen/Tania Andersen
  2. Paul Anderson/Sue Gurr (Wanganui East)
  3. Roger Ball/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  4. Denise Bavidge/Geoff Greer (Bay View)
  5. Leanne Bird/Beryl Cowan (Wanganui East)
  6. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Ann Hogg (Otaki)
  7. Roger Brown/Grant Gardiner
  8. Sharon Cannon/Lee Tafford (Bay View)
  9. Derek Cooper/Paul Husband (Manawatu)
  10. Elva Cooper (Manawatu)/Shirley Madgwick (Wanganui East)
  11. Peter Dennett (Hataitai)/Cliff Wood
  12. Steve Frampton/Brett Maguire (Kapiti)
  13. Dene Futcher/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  14. John Galbraith/Patricia Galbraith
  15. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  16. Jack Gazzard/Linda Gazzard (Kapiti)
  17. Dez Grant/Sarah-Jane Wright (St. George)
  18. Andrew Joe (Windy Hills)/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  19. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)
  20. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  21. Joan Miller/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  22. Graeme Morris (Masterton)/Trevor Neilson (Rotorua)
  23. Barbara Nicholls (Otaki)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  24. Margaret Pomana/Kevin Simpson (Wanganui East)
  25. Murray Porter (Bay View)/Brian Smith (Masterton)
  26. David Smart/Trish Smart (Manawatu)

Masterton Midwinter Doubles

4 June 2016

Player briefing
Player briefing at the start of the Masterton Midwinter Doubles

Twenty-six teams are taking part in the 17th Masterton Midwinter Doubles at the Wairarapa A&P Showgrounds, Clareville.

Murray Porter and Brian Smith were the only undefeated team after the first day's five rounds of qualifying.

Qualifying results

6 June 2016

Masterton Midwinter Doubles winners Dez Grant and Sara-Jane Wright
Dez Grant and Sara-Jane Wright

On Sunday, Murray Porter and Brian Smith continued on their winning way to reach the final of the Masterton Midwinter Doubles.

In contrast their opponents, Dez Grant and Sara-Jane Wright, had dropped four games on their way to final.

However, Dez and Sarah-Jane overcame both history and their opponents to win the Masterton Midwinter Doubles for the second consecutive year.

The Plate final was won by Annick Le Guen and Christine Strichen from Joan Miller and Claire Wilson.

The Bowl was won by Paul Anderson and Sue Gurr and the Bowl Consolation by Denise Bavidge and Geoff Greer.

| Final results | Previous winners |

Masterton Midwinter Doubles

11 June 2016

The video of the Masterton Midwinter Doubles final at Clareville is now on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

11 June 2016

Kapiti’s third defence of the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy was away at Silverstream.

In the first round Kapiti came out on top in all three games with identical 13-12 scorelines. In the next round, they again won all three games to seal the match. Silverstream pulled one back in the final round to avoid the whitewash.

| Result | Previous history |

Kapiti Midwinter Doubles

14 June 2016

Thirty teams have entered the Kapiti Midwinter Doubles on Saturday, 18 June.

  1. Ian Baine/Jean Baine (Upper Hutt)
  2. Marlene Barker/Peter Blake (Kapiti)
  3. Gerry Berben/Ian Taylforth (Kapiti)
  4. Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  5. Grant Bray/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  6. Eddie Campbell/Morgan Choveaux (Kapiti)
  7. Val Clarke/Joan Judd (Otaki)
  8. Barry Cody/Bev Mackay (Kapiti)
  9. June Cody/Judith Williamson (Kapiti)
  10. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper (Manawatu)
  11. David Corley/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  12. Christine Daykin/Judith Smith (Manawatu)
  13. Steve Frampton/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  14. Don Fraser/Shirley Fraser (Otaki)
  15. Margaret Funnell/Paul Husband (Manawatu)
  16. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  17. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  18. Linda Gazzard/Dave Kitchener (Kapiti)
  19. Simon Grant/Robin Mann (Park Avenue)
  20. Bob Horton/Lynley Watt (Upper Hutt)
  21. Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  22. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  23. Margaret Mordecai/Barbara Nicholls (Otaki)
  24. Doc Murray/Dave Wilmhurst (Upper Hutt)
  25. Brett Maguire (Kapiti)/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  26. Lynne Shepherd/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  27. David Smart/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  28. Enoka Smiler/Monica Smiler (Park Avenue)
  29. Christine Stritchen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wison (Masterton)
  30. Marilyn Trembath/Tony Trembath (Horowhenua)

WPA Regional Awards

18 June 2016

The Regional Award winners for 2015-16 were announced at the AGM. The full list of winners is:

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy

18 June 2016

The draw for Round 23 was conducted at the AGM. The winner of the final Round 22 match will be removed from the list of challengers for Round 23 (Article 3)

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy : Draw for Round 23
23.3Upper HuttHome
23.6Park AvenueAway
23.8Wanganui EastAway

Note: The venue is for the Challenger.

Kapiti Midwinter Doubles

19 June 2016

Thirty teams took part in the Kapiti Midwinter Doubles played prior to the WPA AGM.

Three teams, Grant Bray/Annick Le Guen, Dave Gatchell/Pete Hamilton and Steve Frampton/Alan Taylor were undefeated over the five rounds. Grant and Annick took first place on points differential.

Results from the Kapiti Midwinter Doubles.

Representative team

27 June 2016

The Wellington Development team to play Auckland for the Chanticleer Cup is:


Steve Frampton (Kapiti), Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East), Shirley MacDonald (Otaki), Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti), Tony Simpson (Wanganui East), Alan Taylor (Kapiti).

The Reserves are: Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti), Trish Smart (Manawatu).


Brian Bradburn (Silverstream) , Tony Gatford (Kapiti), Ann Hogg (Otaki), Marc Khull (Manawatu), Barbara Nicholls (Otaki), Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East).

Ann Hogg and Marc Khull will be making their Wellington debut.