News Archive - January 2016

News Archive | Subscribe to News
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter

PNZ National Singles Championship

2 January 2016

The video of PNZ National Singles Championship final between Nick Jegousse (Upper Hutt) and Georgio Vakauta (Vikings) is now on the Wellington Pétanque YouTube channel.

Note: The long discussion during the sixth end is due to Georgio playing the wrong boule.

Khandallah Mixed Doubles

14 January 2016

Twelve teams have entered the Khandallah Mixed Doubles to be played on Saturday, 16 January 2016. The start time is 9:00 for 9:30 am.

  1. Ian Baine/Jean Baine (Upper Hutt)
  2. David Corley/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  3. Erica Drake (Hataitai)/Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)
  4. Steve Frampton (Hataitai)/Barbara Nicholls (Otaki)
  5. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  6. Jack Gazzard/Linda Gazzard (Kapiti)
  7. Simon Grant/Robin Mann (Park Avenue)
  8. Bob Horton/Colleen Horton (Upper Hutt)
  9. Mike Kennedy/Alison Zuppicich (Upper Hutt)
  10. Lynne Shepherd/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  11. Kathy Taylor/Dave Wilmshurst (Upper Hutt)
  12. Tommy Werry/Darryl Yuile (Park Avenue)

Khandallah Mixed Doubles

16 January 2016

Due to bad weather the Khandallah Mixed Doubles is postponed until 30 April.

Kapiti Open Doubles

19 January 2016

Thirty-one teams have entered the Kapiti Open Doubles to be played this weekend (23/24 January 2016). The start time is 8:30 for 9:00 am.

  1. Paul Anderson/Margaret Pomana (Wanganui East)
  2. Marlene Barker/Peter Blake (Kapiti)
  3. Denise Bavidge/Geoff Greer (Bay View)
  4. Dave Bosley/Barbara Lucas (Napier City)
  5. Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  6. Alan Cameron/Christine Daykin (Manawatu)
  7. Eddie Campbell/Brett Maguire (Kapiti)
  8. Sharon Cannon/Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  9. Morgan Choveau/Nicholas Toyne
  10. Len Cogger/Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)
  11. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper (Manawatu)
  12. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  13. Hunter Donaldson/Marsha Donaldson (Kapiti)
  14. Brian Frampton/Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  15. Steve Frampton (Hataitai)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  16. Dene Futcher/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  17. Yvonne Futcher/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  18. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Barbara Nicholls (Otaki)
  19. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  20. Linda Gazzard/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  21. Lew Gill/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  22. Dez Grant/Sarah-Jane Wright (St George)
  23. Ann Hogg/Shirley MacDonald (Otaki)
  24. Barbara Johnston/Murray Johnston (Masterton)
  25. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Dirk Winnie (Hataitai)
  26. Jo Maxwell/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  27. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  28. Beth Miles/Judith Williamson (Kapiti)
  29. Joan Miller/Ralph Priddle (Masterton)
  30. Murray Porter (Bay View)/Brian Smith (Masterton)
  31. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)

Kapiti Open Doubles

23 January 2016

Myles Cowper/Michael Rocks and Dez Grant/Sarah-Jane Wright were the only two undefeated teams after the first day's qualifying rounds at the Kapiti Open Doubles. (Qualifying list)

Kapiti Open Doubles

24 January 2016

Myles Cowper and Michael Rocks won their third consecutive Kapiti Open Doubles at the weekend. In the Trophy final they beat Sharon Cannon and Pete Hamilton 13-10.

The Plate final was won by Morgan Choveaux and Nick Toyne over Denise Bavidge and Geoff Greer.

Dene Futcher and Sheryl Parslow won the Bowl from Jo Maxwell and Alan Taylor.

The Bowl Consolation was won by Marlene Barker and Peter Blake over Paul Anderson and Margaret Pomana.

Final results

Photo credit: Paul Barker

New Zealand International Open

31 January 2016

Twenty-six teams took part in the Open Triples and eighteen in the Women's Doubles at Herne Bay in Auckland.

The extra prize-money certainly boosted the entry. However, the earlier registration cutoff meant that several teams missed out.

Saturday featured a six round Swiss. In both the Open Triples and Women's Doubles, three teams finished with 5 wins.

On Sunday, the top 16 teams in the Triples (eight in the Women's Doubles) play timed games in the barrage pools. The remaining teams played 4 Swiss rounds.

In the Open Triples final, Eric Doublet, Arnaud Ernest and Jared Handford beat Andre Noel, Tom Paulo and Georgio Vakauta 13-10.

In the Women's Doubles final, Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson beat Margaret Maher and Jean Parley 13-11.

Further results to come.