News Archive - January 2015

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

Club of the Month

January 2015

Masterton Pétanque is the featured club for the month of January.

Photographs from the Early Days

1 January 2015

The WPA website was set up by Peter Ball in 1997-98. Due to space restrictions, the number of images on the site was severely limited. Photos were displayed for a few weeks and then taken down to allow new ones to be shown.

Nowadays the space restriction is pretty much meaningless, however the website is still very much text only.

Recently we obtained a number of photographs from Rex and Shirley Hayes' collection and these will be added to the site over the coming weeks.

Followers on Twitter will have seen some of these already under the #throwbackthursday hashtag.

1997 National Singles prizewinners

1997 National Singles Championship prizewinners at Park Avenue.

Photo credit: R&S Hayes.

Wellington players at the 1998 Rotorua Anzac Doubles

Wellington players at the 1998 Rotorua Anzac Doubles.

Photo credit: R&S Hayes.

Porirua Petanque club - inaugural Jacques Cochonnet Trophy winners 1999

Porirua Petanque club - inaugural Jacques Cochonnet Trophy winners, February 1999.

Photo credit: R&S Hayes.

2 January 2015

Prizewinners from the 2000 Khandallah Open Doubles.

Playing at Avalon Park in 1997.

Khandallah Mixed Doubles

7 January 2015

Twelve teams have entered the Khandallah Mixed Doubles on Saturday, 10 January.

  1. Ian Baine/Jean Baine (Upper Hutt)
  2. Alan Cameron/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  3. Erica Drake (Hataitai)/Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)
  4. Jack Gazzard/Linda Gazzard (Kapiti)
  5. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  6. Simon Grant/Robin Mann (Park Avenue)
  7. Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)/Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)
  8. Bob Horton/Colleen Horton (Upper Hutt)
  9. Lynne Shepherd/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  10. Kathy Taylor/Dave Wilmshurst (Upper Hutt)
  11. Christophe Vesse (Hataitai)/Jeanne Zee (Upper Hutt)
  12. Judith Williamson/Rex Williamson (Kapiti)

Khandallah Mixed Doubles

10 January 2015

Twelve teams entered the sixth Khandallah Mixed Doubles. After three rounds of qualifying (60 minute games), Erica Drake and Doc Murray were the only undefeated team.

After the lunch break the teams split into the Trophy, Plate and Bowl sections for the knockout.

In the Trophy final, Christophe Vesse and Jeanne Zee defeated Alan Cameron and Trish Smart 13-9.

The Plate final was won by Simon Grant and Robin Mann 13-5 over Judith and Rex Williamson.

In the Bowl final, Jack and Linda Gazzard won 13-10 against Kathy and Tony Gatford.

Final results

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy match

11 January 2015

Masterton hosted Wanganui East in their first Jacques Cochonnet Challenge defence of the year. Result

WPA Committee Meeting

11 January 2015

A very happy New Year to you all.

The first committee meeting of the Wellington Pétanque Association for 2015 will be held at Park Avenue on Saturday, 14 February at the completion of the day's play of the WPA Regional Triples (approx 3:30 pm).

Items for the agenda, with appropriate documentation, need to be submitted to the Secretary by Wednesday, 21 January 2015.

Colleen Horton

WPA Regional Triples Championship

13 January 2015

This may be the last Regional Pétanque Championship held at the Park Avenue terrain as the Hutt City Council has plans to create a Regional Lawn Bowls Centre on the site.

Kapiti Open Doubles

15 January 2015

Thirty-five teams have entered the Kapiti Open Doubles this weekend.

Note: There has been a change to the advertised format. Saturday will feature 5 random games with a time limit of 60 minutes plus 2 ends.

  1. Paul Anderson/Margaret Pomana (Wanganui East)
  2. Ian Bailey/Don Thompson (Manawatu)
  3. Roger Ball (Manawatu)/Tom van Bodegraven (Kapiti)
  4. Peter Blake/Graham Hooper (Kapiti)
  5. David Bosley/Barbara Lucas (Napier City)
  6. Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  7. Ian Calder/Eddie Campbell (Kapiti)
  8. Sharon Cannon/Peter Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  9. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper (Manawatu)
  10. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  11. Anne Dawson/Kathy Gatford (Kapiti)
  12. Christine Daykin/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  13. Helen-Mary Foley/Judith Williamson (Kapiti)
  14. Brian Frampton (Kapiti)/Steve Frampton (Park Avenue)
  15. Dene Futcher/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  16. Yvonne Futcher/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  17. Dave Gatchell/Lew Gill (Horowhenua)
  18. Linda Gazzard/Pat Scholes (Kapiti)
  19. Lorraine Gibbons (Kapiti)/Jeanne Zee (Upper Hutt)
  20. Sue Gurr (Wanganui East)/Doc Murray (Upper Hutt)
  21. Joan Judd (Otaki)/Marilyn Trembath (Horowhenua)
  22. Carol Lacoste/Beth Miles (Kapiti)
  23. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Dirk Winnie (Hataitai)
  24. Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  25. Brett Maguire (Kapiti)/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  26. Robin Mann/Tommy Werry (Park Avenue)
  27. Jo Maxwell/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  28. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  29. Graeme Morris (Masterton)/Trevor Neilson (Rotorua)
  30. Jan Poland/Yvonne Reeks (Kapiti)
  31. Murray Porter (Bay View)/Brian Smith (Masterton)
  32. Lynne Shepherd/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  33. Enoka Smiler/Monica Smiler (Park Avenue)
  34. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  35. Tony Trembath (Horowhenua)/Bob Wilde (Otaki)

Kapiti Open Doubles

17 January 2015

Annick Le Guen and Dirk Winnie (5 wins, +50) and Dave Gatchell and Lew Gill (5 wins, +33) were the only two undefeated teams after the qualifying rounds of the Kapiti Open Doubles. (Qualifying ranking)

Nick & Grant

Lorraine & Murray

Marilyn & Joan

Tony & Brian

Watching the finals

Kapiti Open Doubles

18 January 2015

The top two teams from Saturday continued undefeated through the morning's second round. They were joined in the Trophy knockout by five of the remaining top eight qualifiers from Saturday. Graeme Morris and Trevor Neilson were the only lower ranked side to make it through, eventually falling in the semi-finals.

Annick Le Guen and Dirk Winnie's unbeaten run was finally broken in the quarter-finals, but Dave Gatchell and Lew Gill marched on to the final where they faced defending title-holders Myles Cowper and Michael Rocks.

Unfortunately, it proved to be a game too far as they went down 1-13 in 5 ends (0-2, 0-5, 0-10, 1-10, 1-13).

Final results

Report from Kapiti Coast News

WPA Committee Meeting

24 January 2015

The agenda for the Committee Meeting on Saturday, 14 February is available. The meeting will commence at the conclusion of play in the Regional Triples.

NZ International Open

26 January 2015

Sixteen Triples and eight Women's Doubles teams from Australia, New Zealand and Tahiti took part in the 19th NZ International Open held at the Herne Bay Pétanque club over Auckland Anniversary weekend.

Both Trophy finals featured a New Zealand versus Tahiti match. New Zealand prevailed in the Women's Doubles with Tahiti claiming honours in the Open Triples.

Final results

Heifara, Mike & Robert

Jean & Margaret

Junior Triples

Renee & Catherine

WPA Inter-club

27 January 2015

Results from Day 1 of the Inter-club competition.

PNZ Board Appointment

27 January 2015

Ray Pierce from the Vikings club in Auckland has been co-opted onto the PNZ Board to fill the vacancy following Richard Turfrey's resignation. Ray is standing for election at the Annual General Meeting later this year.

PNZ Board Elections

31 January 2015

Further to notice sent November 2014, the nominations for the two vacant Board positions are:

These nominations will be ratified at the AGM.

Barbara Whittington
Pétanque NZ