News Archive - August 2015

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

Tournament Calendar

2 August 2015

With the start of the new season on 1 September, the links from the website have been updated. The current season link will point to the 2015-16 calendar, last season will point to the 2014-15 calendar, and next season will point to the 2016-17 season.

The 2013-14 calendar (previously last season) has been archived.

New Video

5 August 2015

Video from the 2015 Trans Tasman match played at the Pyrenees Pétanque club, Avoca, Victoria.

The game is from Round 2 and features Kapiti's Annick Le Guen.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy match

7 August 2015

Upper Hutt defaulted their Jacques Cochonnet challenge match against Kapiti on 26 July.

Kapiti's next defence is away to Wanganui East. Remaining draw

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy match

10 August 2015

Kapiti were on the road again in their latest defence of the Jacques Cochonnet Challenge trophy. This time they were at Wanganui East and after a slow start were behind 1-2 after the first round and then 2-4 after the second.

Needing to win all three games in the final round they were successful in the Singles and Triples, but couldn't quite get there in the Doubles.

Wanganui East won the match 5-4 to claim the Trophy for the fourth time. Result

Wanganui East's first defence is at home to Horowhenua.

The winning team with Jacques!

Auckland Representative Team

13 August 2015

The Auckland Development team to play against Wellington for the Chanticleer Cup is:


Gesta Avamaei, Steve Lawry, Ena Manuireva, Thierry Pannetier, Margaret Penny and Selwyn Sainty.


Alain Coulomb, John Jones, Margaret Maher, Chere McMath, Jean-Claude Rapon and Anne Shield.

The match will be played at the Manawatu Pétanque club, Palmerston North, on 22-23 August.

Pétanque in the News

17 August 2015

Christine Strichen, Sharon Cannon and Claire Wilson make the Wanganui Chronicle.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy match

17 August 2015

Wanganui East wasted no time in putting the Jacques Cochonnet trophy on the line. Just six days after their successful challenge, Wanganui East faced Horowhenua at home.

Sadly, Horowhenua's journey was in vain as they went down 2-7. Result

Wanganui East's second defence is at home to Hataitai.

New Video

19 August 2015

Video from the 2015 Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples final played at the HBLTS Pétanque club, Napier.

Around the Clubs

23 August 2015


Get to Know Pétanque 1

Manawatu Pétanque recently hosted Sport Manawatu staff on a typical cold, windy and rainy Friday afternoon in a Get to Know Pétanque Time.

Get to Know Pétanque Time 2

Ann was aghast as the children who took over from the parents could get their boules closer to the cochonnet after a few throws.

Manawatu Troublesome Triples

26 August 2015

Sixteen teams have entered the Manawatu Troublesome Triples (Saturday, 29 August). The start time is 9:00 for 9:30 am.

  1. Ian Bailey/Don Thompson/Janet Toogood (Manawatu)
  2. Roger Ball/David Corley/Marc Khull (Manawatu)
  3. Diane Brunton/Val Clark/Kathleen Pearse (Otaki)
  4. Shona Callear/Ann Dowds/Tony Farmer (Manawatu)
  5. Alan Cameron/David Smart/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  6. Sharon Cannon/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  7. Len Cogger/Doc Murray/Dave Wilmshurst (Upper Hutt)
  8. Derek Cooper/Paul Husband/Pat MacFarlane (Manawatu)
  9. Christine Daykin/Judith Smith/Jan Willis (Manawatu)
  10. Brian Frampton/Jo Maxwell/Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  11. Dave Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Pete Hamilton/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  12. Lew Gill (Horowhenua)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  13. Ann Hogg/Shirley MacDonald/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  14. Joan Judd (Otaki)/Marilyn Trembath/Tony Trembath (Horowhenua)
  15. Annick Le Guen/Brett Maguire/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  16. Joan Millar/Alison Priddle/Ralph Priddle (Masterton)

Manawatu Troublesome Triples

26 August 2015

Sixteen teams took part in the Manawatu Troublesome Triples. Dave Gatchell, Pete Hamilton and Cheryl Parslow went through undefeated to claim first place. Final results