News Archive - April 2015

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

WPA Women's Singles

7 April 2015

Twenty-six players have entered the WPA Women's Singles Championship at Kapiti this Saturday (11 April).

  1. Kath Alison (Kapiti)
  2. Marlene Barker (Kapiti)
  3. Rosemary Barrack (Horowhenua)
  4. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  5. Val Clark (Otaki)
  6. June Cody (Kapiti)
  7. Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  8. Shirley Fraser (Otaki)
  9. Kathy Gatford (Kapiti)
  10. Ann Hogg
  11. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  12. Val Long (Otaki)
  13. Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)
  14. Catherine Maher (Hataitai)
  15. Jo Maxwell (Kapiti)
  16. Margaret Mordeciai (Otaki)
  17. Barbara Nicholls (Park Avenue)
  18. Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  19. Shirley Peard (Horowhenua)
  20. Glenys Reeves (Horowhenua)
  21. Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  22. Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  23. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)
  24. Kathy Taylor (Upper Hutt)
  25. Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  26. Alison Zuppicich (Upper Hutt)

10 April 2015

Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua) has withdrawn, her place has been taken by Lorraine Gray (Silverstream).

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy challenge draw

25 July 2014

The draw for Round 21 was conducted after the WPA Committee meeting. Masterton's next defence will be away to Manawatu.

Trophy Holder


Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy : Draw for Round 21
21.4Upper HuttHome
21.5Park AvenueHome
21.6Wanganui EastHome

Note: The venue is for the Challenger.

WPA Women's Singles Championship

13 April 2015

The thirteenth Regional Women's Singles Championship was held at Kapiti on Saturday. Defending champion Claire Wilson (Masterton) retained the title by beating Annick Le Guen (Kapiti) 13-7 in the Trophy final.

Barbara Nicholls (Park Avenue) won the Plate, beating Kathy Gatford (Kapiti) 13-3. June Cody (Kapiti) beat Catherine Maher (Hataitai) 13-6 to win the Bowl. Noeline Corley (Manawatu) won the Bowl Consolation.

Final results

Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples

16 April 2015

Fourteen teams have entered the Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples at HBLTS in Napier this weekend (18/19 April).

  1. Paul Anderson/Dene Futcher/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  2. Maurice Belz (Bay View)/Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  3. Dave Bosley/Barbara Lucas/Ngaire McKinley (Napier City)
  4. John (Bugman)/Carole Rowsell/Mark Thompson (HBLTS)
  5. Sharon Cannon (Bay View)/Dez Grant/Sara-Jane Wright (St George)
  6. Sandy Carston (Wanganui East)/Eddie King (HBLTS)/An Other
  7. Bernice Devinie/Dennis Gillespie/Mike Rouse (Napier City)
  8. Arnaud Dubczuk/Georgio Vakauta/Ruby Vakauta (Vikings)
  9. Pam Fuller (Napier)/Ian Hay/John Maxwell (HBLTS)
  10. Yvonne Futcher/Tony Simpson/Richard Turfery (Wanganui East)
  11. Bethne Gardiner (HBLTS)/David Gatchell (Horowhenua)/Peter Horgan (HBLTS)
  12. Margaret Harkness/Pam Nicholson/Val Nicholson (HBLTS)
  13. Robin Johnson (HBLTS)/Allan Munroe (Wanganui East)/Robert Wilson (HBLTS)
  14. Murray Porter (Bay View)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)/Lee Tafford (Bay View)

WPA Committee Meeting

18 April 2015

The draft Minutes for the 9 April Meeting.

Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples

20 April 2015

Thirteen teams took part in the eleventh Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples at HBLTS over the weekend. After the five qualifying rounds on Saturday, all teams had dropped at least one game.

The top eight teams went through to the Trophy/Plate round on Sunday with the remaining five teams in the Bowl.

The Trophy final featured Arnaud Dubczuk, Georgio Vakauta and Ruby Vakauta from the Vikings club in Auckland against locals Murray Porter and Lee Taffard with Michael Rocks as their third.

Progress score: 1-0, 1-1, 1-2, 1-2, 1-4, 1-5, 1-7, 3-7, 8-7, 8-9, 8-11, 8-12, 8-13.

The Plate was won by Sharon Cannon, Dez Grant and Sara-Jane Wright who beat Yvonne Futcher, Tony Simpson and Richard Turfery 13-6.

Paul Anderson, Dene Futcher and Sheryl Parslow were undefeated in winning the Bowl.

Final results

PNZ National Club Championship

22 April 2015

Fifteen teams from thirteen clubs have entered the National Club Championship in Rotorua this weekend (25-26 April).

Alexandra, Bayview, Christchurch, Dunedin City, Herne Bay Gold, Herne Bay Green, Kapiti, Mange Cailloux, Masterton, Panmure Pioneers, St George, Tauranga BOP, Vikings Maroon, Vikings White, Wanganui East.

PNZ National Club Championship

25 April 2015

Herne Bay Green (24 points) lead from Vikings Maroon and Christchurch (21) after the first day at the National Club Championships in Rotorua.

Three Wellington clubs: Kapiti, Masterton and Wanganui East, along with a composite team, Mange Cailloux, comprising players from Hataitai, Horowhenua, Otaki and Silverstream are taking part.

Check the Twitter feed for updates during the day.

PNZ National Club Championship

26 April 2015

After the third round of Doubles, Vikings Maroon caught Herne Bay Green at the top of the leaderboard with Christchurch in third place a point behind.

Christchurch's challenge ran out of puff down the home straight and they were caught by Herne Bay Gold and Panmure Pioneers.

Leading into the final round, Herne Bay Green and Vikings Maroon were still tied. Vikings Maroon faced St George and Vikings White could do their clubmates a great service by winning some of the games against Herne Bay Green.

Vikings Maroon could only win one of the three Doubles games, while Herne Bay Green completed the clean sweep to claim the National Club Championship title.

Prizewinners: Herne Bay Green 44, Vikings Maroon 40, Herne Bay Gold on tie-break from Panmure Pioneers and Christchurch 37.

Vikings White took out the Senior team prize (over 60) ahead of Alexandra. Further details to come.

WPA Women's Doubles

28 April 2015

Eighteen teams have entered the WPA Women's Doubles at Horowhenua this Saturday (2 May).

  1. Rosemary Barrack/Carleen Fitzgerald (Horowhenua)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Monica Smiler (Park Avenue)
  3. Diane Brunton/Shirley Fraser (Otaki)
  4. Shona Callear/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  5. Sharon Cannon (Bay View)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  6. Val Clark/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  7. Christine Daykin/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  8. Erica Drake/Viv Pender (Hataitai)
  9. Yvonne Futcher/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  10. Linda Gazzard/Jo Maxwell (Kapiti)
  11. Ann Hogg/Jan Holloway (Horowhenua)
  12. Frances Johns/Glenys Reeves (Horowhenua)
  13. Barb Johnston (Masterton)/Barbara Nicholls (Park Avenue)
  14. Joan Judd/Marilyn Trembath (Otaki)
  15. Val Long (Otaki)/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  16. Joan Miller (Masterton)/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  17. Judith Smith/Jan Willis (Manawatu)
  18. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)

WPA Women's Triples

28 April 2015

Ten teams have entered the WPA Women's Triples at Horowhenua this Sunday (3 May).

  1. Kath Alison (Kapiti)/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Jo Maxwell (Kapiti)
  2. Dianne Brunton/Shirley Fraser/Val Long (Otaki)
  3. Sharon Cannon (Bay View)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  4. Val Clark/Margaget Mordecai (Otaki)/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  5. Noeline Corley/Christine Daykin/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  6. Joan Finn/Jan Holloway/Glenys Reeves (Horowhenua)
  7. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Barb Johnston (Masterton)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  8. Linda Gazzard/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)/Barbara Nicholls (Park Avenue)
  9. Carole Lacoste/Beth Miles/Pat Scholes (Kapiti)
  10. Joan Miller (Masterton)/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)/Marilyn Trembath (Horowhenua)