News Archive - March 2014

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

WPA Inter-club competition

2 March 2014

Results from the Third day of the Inter-club competition.

Kapiti won the East Zone and Masterton won the West Zone.

WPA Regional Triples

4 March 2014

Eighteen teams have entered the Regional Triples to be held at Kapiti Pétanque club, Aorangi Road, Paraparaumu (8/9 March).

The start time is 8:30 for 9:00 am both days.

  1. Rangi Ankins/Dave Gatchell/Lew Gill (Horowhenua)
  2. Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Shirley McDonald (Horowhenua)
  3. Bob Bridge (Masterton)/Steve Frampton (Park Avenue)/Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  4. Max Brown/Tony Gatford/Brett Maguire (Kapiti)
  5. Ted Burr/Joan Judd (Otaki)/Sandy McDonald (Horowhenua)
  6. Eddie Campbell/Rex Hayes/Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)
  7. Sharon Cannon/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Dirk Winnie (Hataitai)
  8. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Nick Jegousse (Upper Hutt)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  9. Anne Dawson (Kapiti)/Diane Fletcher/Barbara Nicholls (Park Avenue)
  10. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  11. Linda Gazzard (Kapiti)/Robin Mann/Tommy Werry (Park Avenue)
  12. Ken Heywood (Wanganui East)/Richard Lawson (Hataitai)/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  13. Andrew Joe/Dean Norman (Windy Hills)/Brian Smith (Masterton)
  14. Barbara Johnston/Joan Miller/Ralph Priddle (Masterton)
  15. Jo Maxwell/Harl Stevens/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  16. Bob McCarthy/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  17. Graeme Morris (Masterton)/Susan Norman (Windy Hills)/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  18. Enoka Smiler/Monica Smiler (Park Avenue)/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)

Spanish Pétanque TV

4 March 2014

For those that just can't get enough Pétanque — PetancaTV.

2 August 2015

Unfortunately, Pétanque is no longer on the website. It doesn't appear to have been moved to the 73tv YouTube channel.

Technology in Coaching

4 March 2014

Jim Dickin, an Auckland based rugby and athletics coach, has started contributing articles to New Zealand Coach on technology in coaching.

2 August 2015

New Zealand Coach is no longer at You can find it on the SportNZ website under Newsletters.

WPA Regional Triples

8 March 2014

Yvonne Futcher, Annick Le Guen and Claire Wilson were the only undefeated team after the first day's qualifying round at Kapiti. More »

PNZ Annual General Meeting

11 March 2014

In a departure from tradition, the Annual General Meeting will be held in conjunction with the National Club Championship in Rotorua next month, rather then the National Triples in Auckland.

Nomination forms for the Board positions are expected shortly.

WPA Regional Triples

12 March 2014

The Regional Triples final featured the five Wellington members of the Trans Tasman Open Women's team and their coach Dirk winnie.

Yvonne Futcher, Annick Le Guen, and Claire Wilson beat Sharon Cannon, Christine Strichen, and Dirk Winnie.

The Plate final was won by Enoka Smiler, Monica Smiler, and Richard Turfrey over Ken Heywood, Richard Lawson, and Sheryl Parslow.

The Day Two tournament was won by Brian Bradburn, Claire Bradburn, and Shirley McDonald.

15 March 2014

Regional Triples final results

Pétanque New Zealand joins Facebook

13 March 2014

PNZ has created a Facebook page which is open to view. Sarah-Jane Wright will be posting updates from the Trans Tasman match next weekend in Rotorua.

PNZ on Facebook

WPA Inter-club competition

16 March 2014

Inter-club winners - Kapiti

Kapiti won the Inter-club competition for the second time. In the Division One final they beat Horowhenua.

The Division two final was won by Hataitai from Manawatu.

Inter-club Final day results

PNZ Annual General Meeting

19 March 2014

Notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting of the New Zealand Petanque Association (Inc) will be held at 5:00pm on Friday, 25 April 2014, at the Rotorua Pétanque Club.

Any Club or member wishing to have a remit or motion presented to the AGM should submit it to the Secretary as soon as possible, and by 11 April 2014 at the latest. A further notice advising the details of any remits/motions will be sent to Clubs at least 1 week in advance of the AGM.

In accordance with the provisions of the Constitution, Dirk Winnie and Sarah-Jane Wright are due to retire at the AGM. Dirk is not seeking re-election; Sarah Jane is standing for re-election. There is also a Board vacancy created by the resignation during the year of Alan Heron.

Barbara Whittington
Pétanque New Zealand

WPA Regional Seedings

22 March 2014

Following on from her win in the Regional Triples, Annick Le Guen (Kapiti) has assumed the number one position in the WPA Regional seedings.

Annick is the fifth player, and the first from Kapiti, to hold the top spot. Previous holders were Brian Smith, Gordon Dykes, Dirk Winnie, and Michael Rocks.

Regional Seedings | Explanation of the Seeding system

Trans Tasman match

22 March 2014

There appears to be some confusion regarding the scores at the end of the first day's play in the Trans Tasman match being held in Rotorua.

According to the published sheets on the PNZ Facebook page, both the Senior and Open divisions are tied at 30 points each.

However, in the summary posted on the page End of day 1 - Open - NZ 27 points, Aus 33 points. Seniors - NZ 30 points, Aus 30 point.

Simon Hurley (Napier) came into the NZ Open team in place of Georgio Vakauta (Vikings).

Day One Results

WPA Committee Meeting

22 March 2014

The Agenda for the WPA Committee Meeting to be held on Thursday, 10 April at the Kapiti Pétanque club.

Trans Tasman match

23 March 2014

New Zealand win the Open division, Australia win the Senior division in Rotorua.

Provisional Results

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Match

24 March 2014

Masterton successfully retained the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy in their challenge match against Manawatu at the weekend.

Masterton's next defence is away to Kapiti.

Match result | Tournament history

Pétanque Supplies Ltd

27 March 2014

David Parr from Pétanque Supplies Ltd has relocated from Eastbourne to Carterton.

David's new address is 15 Clifton Avenue, Carterton 5713. Phone (06)-379-7766, Fax (06)-379-7798.

Regional Shooting Championship

29 March 2014

Eleven players took part in the Regional Shooting Championship at Kapiti. Michael Rocks retained the title he won last year and Alan Taylor moved up one spot to claim second.