News Archive - February 2014

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

World Men's Singles Championship

2 February 2014

The inaugural World Men's Singles Championship is taking place in Nice, France. Thirty players, including two Oceania representatives took part in the qualifying round yesterday.

Joe Corcoran (Australia) qualifying for the A Division knockout after winning three of his five qualifying games. Mathieu Spinouze (New Caledonia) qualified for the B Division knockout after winning two of his five qualifying games.

NZ International Open

2 February 2014

Results from the NZ International Open held at the Herne Bay Pétanque club. Photos to come.

Wellington players took out the top NZ team awards. In the Women's Doubles Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson finished first. In the Men's Triples Myles Cowper, Nick Jegousse and Michael Rocks finished third equal.

World Men's Singles Championship

6 February 2014

Dylan Rocher (France) beat Richard Nillson (Sweden) 13-1 in the Championship final to win the inaugural Henri Bernard trophy.

The bronze medals were claimed by Toufik Faci (Germany) and Khaled Lakal (Tunisia).

Australia's Joe Corcoran qualified for the top 16, but was eliminated in the first round of the knockout by Rocher 13-5.

The Plate section was won by Benny Bel-Lafkih (Norway) who beat Mathieu Spinouze (New Caledonia) in the final.

Full results can be found on the FIPJP website.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Match

9 February 2014

For the second consecutive challenge Masterton retained the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy without throwing a boule. Park Avenue were unable to field a team and so defaulted the match.

Masterton's next defence is at home to Manawatu.

Tournament history

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles

11 February 2014

Eighteen teams have entered the Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles this Sunday (16 February). The start time is 9:30 for 10:00 am.

  1. Ian Baine/Jean Baine (Upper Hutt)
  2. Jean Boughen/Bev Plowman (Upper Hutt)
  3. Alan Cameron/Trish Smart (Manawatu)
  4. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper (Manawatu)
  5. David Corley/Noeline Corley (Manawatu)
  6. Fay Doyle/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  7. Erica Drake/Christophe Vesse (Hataitai)
  8. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  9. Jack Gazzard/Lynne Shepherd (Kapiti)
  10. Linda Gazzard/Jo Maxwell (Kapiti)
  11. Colleen Horton (Upper Hutt)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  12. Elaine Hunt/Kathy Taylor (Upper Hutt)
  13. Bob Horton/Jeanne Zee (Upper Hutt)
  14. Rona Hurley/Lynley Watt (Upper Hutt)
  15. Tim Lovell-Smith/Barry Sarney (Upper Hutt)
  16. Albina Markov/Ruth Quill (Upper Hutt)
  17. Doc Murray/Dave Wilmshurst (Upper Hutt)
  18. Marilyn Scott/Alison Zuppicich (Upper Hutt)

WPA Inter-club competition

12 February 2014

Results from the second day of the Inter-club competition.

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles

16 February 2014

Colleen Horton and Michael Rocks were undefeated in winning the Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles. Second place was taken by Jack Gazzard and Lynne Shepherd ahead of Elaine Hunt and Kathy Taylor, and Bob Horton and Jeanne Zee.


Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles #1 Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles #2

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles #3 Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles #4

WPA Committee Minutes

19 February 2014

The Minutes for the 14 February meeting are now available.

WBS Open Triples

20 February 2014

Sixteen teams have entered the WBS Open Triples this weekend (22/23 February).

  1. Maurice Belz (Bay View)/Bob Bridge (Masterton)/Lee Taffard (Napier City)
  2. Sharon Cannon/Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  3. Sandra Carston/Ken Heywood (Wanganui East)/Eddie King (HBLT)
  4. Myles Cowper (Hataitai)/Nick Jegousse (Upper Hutt)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  5. Peter Dennett/Richard Lawson (Hataitai)/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  6. Erica Drake (Hataitai)/Sue Gurr (Wanganui East)/Catherine Maher (Hataitai)
  7. Dianne Fletcher/Barbara Nicholls/Graeme Pilcher (Park Avenue)
  8. Audrey Forsyth/Myrna Lane/Eelkje van Blaaderen (Masterton)
  9. Steve Frampton/Enoka Smiler (Park Avenue)/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  10. Dez Grant (St George)/Murray Porter (Bay View)/Brian Smith (Masterton)
  11. Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  12. Barb Johnston (Masterton)/Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)
  13. Dawn Macdonald/Gael Singer/Niall Singer (Masterton)
  14. Bob McCarthy/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  15. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  16. Joan Miller/Ralph Priddle (Masterton)/Sarah-Jane Wright (St George)

WBS Open Triples

23 February 2014

Maurice Belz, Bob Bridge and Lee Taffard won the WBS Open Triples in Masterton. In the Trophy final they beat Barbara Johnston, Shirley MacDonald and Christine Strichen 13-6.

Progress score: 0-1, 0-1, 1-1, 3-1, 3-3, 7-3, 7-5, 7-6, 9-6, 13-6.

Final results

WBS Triples #1 WBS Triples #2

WBS Triples #3 WBS Triples #4

WBS Triples Runners Up WBS Triples Winners

National Representative team

26 February 2014

Tweleve Wellington region players have been named in the New Zealand team to play against Australia in Rotorua next month (22/23 March).

The Trans Tasman match is played in an Open division and a Senior (Over 60) division. New Zealand has dominated both divisions in recent years and will hoping to win both divisions for the seventh consecutive year.

Men's Open Team

Bob Bridge (Masterton), Christian Fouquet (Herne Bay), Dez Grant (St George), Bill Peachey (Hibiscus Coast), Mark Richardson (Christchurch), Georgio Vakauta (Vikings)

Women's Open Team

Sharon Cannon (Wanganui East), Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East), Annick Le Guen (Kapiti), Angela Maxted (Kennedy Park), Christine Strichen (Wanganui East), Claire Wilson (Masterton)

Men's Senior Team

Alain Coulomb (Hibiscus Coast), Neville Frost (Caversham), Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Ray Pierce (Herne Bay), Bob McCarthy (Otaki), Graeme Morris (Masterton)

Women's Open Team

Claire Bradburn (Silverstream), Janet Goodin (Caversham), Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua), Ros Morton (Herne Bay), Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East), Ann Shields (Epsom)

Coaches have yet to be named.

Annick Le Guen, Angela Maxted and Ros Morton are all making their international debut.

Previous results

Trans Tasman Australia team

26 February 2014

The Australia team to play against New Zealand in the Trans Tasman match at Rotorua Pétanque club.

Open Men

Jean-Luc Domergue, Clifford Edouard, Francois Hitie, Michael Lacase, Pierrot Lubin, Frederic Vencatasamy

Open Women

Cathy Ayre, Sue Begley, Adeline Deramond, Arlette Figon, Kate Mangan, Libby Sowter

The Open Coach is Warren Sowter

Senior Men

Robin Anderson, Mico Charlot, Terry Dando, Andre Deramond, Guy Detot, David Ward

Senior Women

Joyce Anderson, Helen Bayet, Sue Dauth, Annie Hambour, Valmai Nicoll, Kim Threadgate

The Senior Coach is Adrian Clements.

Shooting Competition rule changes

27 February 2014

When shooting the cochonnet the points awarded have reverted back to the pre-2008 rules for the World Championship Shooting competition.

In figure 5, if you touch or move the jack and it does not leave the circle then three points are awarded. In 2008, this was changed to 1 point if the cochonnet was touched and did not leave the spot and three points if it moves but does not leave the circle.

The change will make it easier for the Arbitre to allocate points.

There have been some additional rule tweaks for competitions and an updated English version of the rules are expected shortly. The rules can be found on the FIPJP website.

Prior copies of the rules