News Archive - April 2014

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

WPA Champion of Champions - Triples

2 April 2014

Seven clubs took part in the Champion of Champions - Triples held at Otaki.

Kapiti and Wanganui East finished with 5 wins, with Kapiti taking the title by winning their individual game.

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge match

6 April 2014

Masterton's nineteenth month reign as Jacques Cochonnet Trophy holders ended in their away defence at Kapiti. Masterton lead 2-1 after the first round, but could only pick up one further win in the third round to lose the match 3-6.

Kapiti's first defence is away to Silverstream.

Match result | Tournament history

PNZ National Shooting Championship

6 April 2014

Christine Strichen (Wanganui East) won her third consecutive (and fourth overall) National Shooting title. In the final, she beat top qualifier Jean Parley (Stanley Bay).

The Men's title was won by Bill Peachey (Vikings) who beat top qualifier Niau Ruta (Panmure Pioneers).

Shooting competition final placings

PNZ National Triples

6 April 2014

Seventeen teams took part in the National Triples Championship at the new Panmure Pioneers Pétanque club in Mt Wellington, Auckland.

The Trophy final featured local club members Seti Mailei, Charles Peni, and Niau Ruta against Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Tom Paulo, and Junior Purcell (Vikings).

Progress score: 1-0, 1-2, 1-2, 2-2, 3-2, 3-3, 3-6, 5-6, 7-6, 10-6, 10-12, 13-12.

The Trophy Consolation final was won by Pam Jenkins, Joanne Lippard, and Steve Lowry from Tumua Faitele, Dhiren Govind, and David Peni.

Christian Fouquet, Dez Grant, and David Lippard were undefeated in winning the Consolante.

East & Bays Courier report | Pictures on the Panmure Pioneers website | PNZ Facebook page

Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples

10 April 2014

Sixteen teams have entered the tenth Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples to be held at the HBLTS Pétanque club this weekend.

  1. Maurice Beltz (HBLTS)/Pete Hamilton/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  2. Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Magaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  3. Bob Bridge (Masterton)/David Bruce/Lee Taffard (Napier)
  4. Bugman/Carole Rowsell/Mark Thompson (HBLTS)
  5. Sharon Cannon (Bay View)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  6. Vicky Cox/Margaret Harkness/Robert Wilson (HBLTS)
  7. Krissy Dinniss/Dene Futcher/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  8. Pam Fuller/Ian Hay/Pam Ward (Napier)
  9. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Barb Johnston/Murray Johnston (Masterton)
  10. Dez Grant (St. George)/Simon Hurley (Napier)/Sarah-Jane Wright (St. George)
  11. Geoff Greer/Murray Porter (Bay View)/Micheal Rocks (Khandallah)
  12. Josh Hamilton/Jonathon Kerr/Pam Nicholson (HBLTS)
  13. Ken Heywood (Wanganui East)/Eddie King (HBLTS)/AN Other
  14. Peter Horgan/John Maxwell (HBLTS)/Dirk Winnie (Hataitai)
  15. Robin Johnson (HBLTS)/Alan Munroe/Tony Mudgway (Wanganui East)
  16. Bob McCarthy (Otaki)/Shirley McDonald (Horowhenua)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)

Note start times: Saturday 8:30 for 9:00 am; Sunday 8:00 for 8:30 am.

Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples

13 April 2014

The final of the Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples at the HBLTS Pétanque club featured five locals and one Wellingtonian.

In a close fought match, Geoff Greer, Murray Porter, and Michael Rocks pipped Dez Grant, Simon Hurley, and Sarah-Jane Wright 13-12 to claim the title.

Hawke's Bay Autumn triples results

WPA Committee Meeting

18 April 2014

The draft minutes of the 10 April meeting are now available.

The main points are:

PNZ Annual General Meeting

19 April 2014

The Annual General Meeting of Pétanque New Zealand will be held at 6:00 pm on Friday, 25 April at the Rotorua Pétanque club, Government Gardens, Rotorua.

AGM Agenda (38kB) | Minutes from 2013 AGM (69kB).

The Alternative Sports Club Awards

22 April 2014

With the Sports Awards season in full swing, Svend Elkjaer from the Sports Marketing Network, in the UK, has put forward a suggestion for an alternative set of Awards that celebrate new thinking, community engagement, communication and great experiences at our community sports clubs.

Pétanque NZ Board elections

25 April 2014

Barrie Anderson, Claire Bradburn, and Sarah-Jane Wright were elected to the Board. They will join Stefany Frost and Richard Turfrey.

The members present at the meeting recommended to the Board that Stefany Frost should be appointed President. The Board portfolios will be determined at the first Board meeting in a few weeks time.