News Archive - January 2013

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

Otaki New Year Mêlée

5 January 2013

Forty-eight players took part in the Otaki New Year Mêlée on a beautiful sunny day. Everything went smoothly with 5 timed games, each 50 minutes.

The leading placegetters were: Pam Ward (Kapiti) and Sandy MacDonald (Horowhenua) both with 4 wins, +27. Third place went to Carleen Fitzgerald (Horowhenua) with 4 wins, +23.

Khandallah Open Mixed Doubles

7 January 2013

Thirteen entries have been received for the Khandallah Mixed Doubles on Sunday 13 January. The organisers would like one (or better still three) more to avoid a bye.

  1. Kath Alison/Kaye Alison (Kapiti)
  2. Ted Burr/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  3. Anne Dawson/Terry Dawson (Kapiti)
  4. Fay Doyle/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  5. Erica Drake/Richard Lawson (Hataitai)
  6. Barbara Frampton/Brian Frampton (Kapiti)
  7. Don Fraser/Shirly Fraser (Otaki)
  8. Jack Gazzard/Linda Gazzard (Kapiti)
  9. Clare Loman (Otaki)/Peter van Heusden (Khandallah)
  10. Bob McCarthy/Jan McCarthy (Otaki)
  11. Doc Murray/Kathy Taylor (Upper Hutt)
  12. Elizabeth Rocks/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  13. Trish Smart (Horowhenua)/Christophe Vesse (Hataitai)

Kapiti Open Doubles

12 January 2013

Thirty-two teams have entered the Kapiti Open Doubles (19/20 January).

  1. David Bosley/Barbara Lucas (Napier City)
  2. Brian Bradburn/Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  3. Grant Bray (Windy Hills)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  4. Bob Bridge/Brian Smith (Masterton)
  5. Ted Burr/Joan Judd (Otaki)
  6. Eddie Campbell/Rex Hayes (Kapiti)
  7. Sharon Cannon (Bay View)/Peter Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  8. Myles Cowper (Windy Hills)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  9. Anne Dawson/Terry Dawson (Kapiti)
  10. Peter Dennett/Catherine Maher (Hataitai)
  11. Krissy Dinniss/Dene Futcher (Wanganui East)
  12. Fay Doyle/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  13. Erica Drake/Richard Lawson (Hataitai)
  14. Diane Fletcher/Barbara Nicholls (Park Avenue)
  15. Brian Frampton (Kapiti)/Steve Frampton (Park Avenue)
  16. Yvonne Futcher/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  17. Kathy Gatford/Tony Gatford (Kapiti)
  18. Jack Gazzard/Pat Scholes (Kapiti)
  19. Linda Gazzard/Jo Maxwell (Kapiti)
  20. Sue Gurr/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  21. Ken Heywood/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  22. Barb Johnston/Joan Miller (Masterton)
  23. Sandy Macdonald /Lynne Teddy (Horowhenua)
  24. Shirley Macdonald (Horowhenua)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  25. Brett Maguire/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  26. Robin Mann/Tommy Werry (Park Avenue)
  27. Bob McCarthy/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  28. Kevin McFadgen/Sheryl McFadgen (Kapiti)
  29. Bev McKay/Jan Poland (Kapiti)
  30. Beth Miles/Pam Ward (Kapiti)
  31. Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  32. Judith Williamson/Rex Williamson (Kapiti)

Khandallah Mixed Doubles

13 January 2013

Khandallah's bad luck with the weather has struck again. The Mixed Doubles has been postponed until Sunday 10 March.

Kapiti Open Doubles

20 January 2013

2013 Kapiti Open Doubles winners

Sharon Cannon (Bay View) and Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East) both won their second Kapiti Open Doubles title when they paired up for the 2013 tournament.

In the final they beat Robin Mann and Tommy Werry (Park Avenue), 13-6.

Thirty-two teams took part in the two-day event. Final results

Plimmerton Pétanque terrain

20 January 2013

A new public pétanque terrain has been created in Karehana Park in Plimmerton.

WPA Inter-club competition

22 January 2013

The draw for the 2013 Inter-club competition is now available. There are five teams in the East zone and they will play a single round-robin. The four teams in the West zone will play a double round-robin.

Synthetic Cochonnets

24 January 2013

Currently, there are only 2 synthetic cochonnets approved by FIPJP. They are made by OBUT and VMS.

The approved cochonnet must have the name of the manufacturer written on it.

Any synthetic cochonnet without one of these brand (OBUT or VMS) written on them in relief are not allowed in official competition.

John Degueldre
PNZ Director of Umpiring

Obut synthetic cochonnet VMS synthetic cochonnet

NZ International Open

27 January 2013

2013 NZ International Open Triples winners

Allan Fletcher, Charles Peni and Richard Swaney won the NZ International Open Triples beating Francis Ching, Robert U and Georgio Vakauta 13-8 in the final.

The Women's Doubles was by Sue Begley and Adriane Ernest who beat Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson in the final.

Twenty-four teams took part in the Triples and twelve in the Women's Doubles.

Further details to come.

29 January 2013

Final results

WPA Inter-club competition

29 January 2013

First day Inter-club results.

WPA Commitee Meeting

30 January 2013

The Agenda for the Committee Meeting on 14 February has been issued.