News Archive - September 2012

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

WPA Women's Tournaments

3 September 2012

Final results from the Women's Doubles and Women's Triples played at Kapiti over the weekend.

Pétanqe postcard

12 September 2012

Les positions du bouliste

In these days of almost universal electronic communications, there is something pleasurable in receiving a hand-written card. It is even better when that communication is on the back of a pétanque themed postcard.

Surprisingly, this card doesn't appear in the 1,728 (at last count) postcard images collected by

The positions are (l-r): the kangaroo, the soldier, the greyhound, the splits.

PNZ National Women's Triples

14 September 2012

Ten teams have entered the National Women's Triples which is being held at the Tauranga BOP Pétanque club (15/16 September).

  1. Margaret Beckwith/Sherrilyn Johnson/Pam Nicholson (Napier City)
  2. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Joan Judd/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  3. Therese Degueldre/Josie Parkin/Brenda Reid (Tauranga BOP)
  4. Annette Forrest/Jo Ann Ingram (Tauranga BOP)/Sue Neilson (Rotorua)
  5. Jayne Heron (St George)/Claire Matthews (Northcote)/Sarah-Jane Wright (Stanley Bay)
  6. Francesca Jarvis/Pamela Jenkins/Joanne Lippard (Herne Bay)
  7. Barbara Johnston (Masterton)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  8. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  9. Margaret Maher/Margaret Penny (Northcote)/Ann Shields (Epsom)
  10. Karen Stephen/Tina Target/Chris Taylor (Christchurch)

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge Match

15 September 2012

Masterton are the first club to win fifty Jacques Cochonnet Challenge matches after they successfully defended the Trophy away at Otaki.

Masterton's next match is at home to Silverstream.

Tournament history | Match results

WPA Committee meeting

15 September 2012

The minutes of the meeting on 23 August are now available.

PNZ National Women's Triples

16 September 2012

Jane Heron, Claire Matthews, and Sarah-Jane Wright have won the National Women's Triples played in Tauranga. Runners-up were Barbara Johnston, Christine Strichen, and Claire Wilson.

The Plate was won by Yvonne Futcher, Annick Le Guen, and Shirley Selwyn.

Final results

World Championship 2012

16 September 2012

2012 World Pétanque Championship flyer

The draw for the Shooting competition was made last week. New Zealand is pool 6 with Cameroon, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Malaysia, San Marino and Switzerland.

Pool six is the last to throw, so the competitors will have a good idea of the qualifying score to reach.

Surprisingly, Australia is in pool two despite not qualifying. (Vanuatu is in pool four and Tahiti in pool five).

19 September 2012

The draw for the first round has been made. New Zealand plays Laos, Tahiti plays England, Vanuatu plays Tunisia and Australia plays Portugal.

Two of the original Asian Confederation qualifiers withdrew (Chinese Taipei and Singapore). They were replaced by Laos and the fourth placed team in the Oceania Confederation Championships, Australia.

WPA Regional Singles

19 September 2012

Thirty-two players have entered the Regional Singles which will be held at the Horowhenua Pétanque club this weekend (22/23 September).

With only one former Singles winner in the field (Rex Hayes, 2010), there is a reasonable chance that a new name will appear on the trophy at the end of the competition.

  1. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)
  2. Bob Bridge (Masterton)
  3. Sharon Cannon (Wanganui East)
  4. Myles Cowper (Windy Hills)
  5. Steve Frampton (Park Avenue)
  6. Don Fraser (Otaki)
  7. Shirley Fraser (Otaki)
  8. Yvonne Futcher Wanganui East)
  9. Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)
  10. Rex Hayes (Kapiti)
  11. Cath Hughes (Manawatu)
  12. Richard Lawson (Hataitai)
  13. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  14. Les Little (Manawatu)
  15. Clare Loman (Otaki)
  16. Sandy MacDonald (Horowhenua)
  17. Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)
  18. Bob McCarthy (Otaki)
  19. John McCulloch (Silverstream)
  20. Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)
  21. Joan Miller (Masterton)
  22. Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  23. Tangi Rasmussen (Park Avenue)
  24. Shirley Selwyn Wanganui East)
  25. Tony Simpson Wanganui East)
  26. Enoka Smiler (Park Avenue)
  27. Monica Smiler (Park Avenue)
  28. Christine Strichen Wanganui East)
  29. Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  30. Don Thompson (Manawatu)
  31. Richard Turfrey Wanganui East)
  32. Claire Wilson (Masterton)

WPA Regional Singles

26 September 2012

Twenty-nine players took part in the Regional Singles at the Horowhenua Pétanque club. In an interesting twist, Bob Bridge (Kerikeri, but playing in Masterton colours) won his first Regional Championship. In the past, the Masterton club did not support allowing non-residents to play in WPA Regional Championships.

Final results

WPA Regional Seedings

26 September 2012

The Regional Seeding list has been updated to include the results of the Regional Singles. (Explanation)