News Archive - March 2012

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed

Inter-club competition

1 March 2012

Due to Saturday's bad weather forecast, Round 5 of the inter-club compeition has been postponed. A new date will be announced later.

Southern Senior Tri-Star

4 March 2012

The Senior Southern Tri-Star competition held in Christchurch was won by Canterbury Black (33), ahead of Canterbury Red (29), Wellington (28) and Southern (22).

More details to come.

Replacement dates for Interclub

6 March 2012

Hi everyone

The tournament sub-committee has looked at the calendar to make the change for the postponed round 5. We need to play round 5 as the competition is very close particularly in the West Zone.

Round 5 will now be played on 28th April (which was originally the finals day). Venues will remain the same as they were set down for round 5 i.e. East - Park Ave and West - Horowhenua. Same start time and same teams as drawn. It will only be play in the morning.

The finals will be played at Kapiti on 13th May which is a Sunday - Mother's Day - so hope this does not create any problems.


WPA Regional Triples

11 March 2012

Twenty teams took part in the Regional Triples at Kapiti. In the Trophy final, Myles Cowper, Michael Rocks and Nico Toyne defeated Tony Simpson, Richard Turfrey and Peter van Heusden.

The Plate final was won by Terry Dawson, Brian Frampton and Steve Frampton from Yvonne Futcher, Barbara Johnston and Christine Strichen. The Day Two tournament was won by Grant Bray, Rex Hayes and Annick Le Guen from Andrew Joe, Richard Lawson and Dean Norman.

Final Results | Updated Regional Seeding List

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge Match

18 March 2012

Masterton were unsuccessful in their away defence against Park Avenue going down 3 games to 6.

Results (Masterton names first)
Singles: Shelia Clark vs. Tangi Rasmussen 6-13, 12-13, 11-13;
Doubles: John Clark/Myrna Lane vs. Monica Smiler/Tommy Werry 13-9, 3-13, 13-12;
Triples: Pete Haworth/Murray Johnston/Joan Miller vs. Steve Frampton/Robin Mann/Graeme Pilcher 4-13, 10-13, 13-8.

Park Avenue's first defence will be at home against Wanganui East.

Tournament history

WPA Chanpion of Champions - Triples

21 March 2012

Five clubs have entered the Champion of Champions Triples to be played at Silverstream on Saturday.

WPA Chanpion of Champions - Triples

24 March 2012

The Kapiti team of Terry Dawson, Rex Hayes, and Annick Le Guen won the Champion of Champions Triples on countback from the Wanganui East team of Paul Anderson, Yvonne Futcher, and Tony Simpson after both teams finished with three wins.

Final results

WPA Committee Meeting

24 March 2012

The next meeting of the WPA Committee is to be held at Kapiti on April 19th 2012 at 7:30 pm.

Colleen Horton

PNZ National Triples Championship

29 March 2012

Twenty-four teams have entered the National Triples Championship to be played at Kapiti over the weekend.

  1. Clive Bartleet (Vikings)/Bob Bridge/Ralph Priddle (Masterton)
  2. Denise Bavidge/Geoff Greer/Murray Porter (Bay View)
  3. Brian Bradburn (Silverstream)/Barbara Nicholls/Tommy Werry (Park Avenue)
  4. Claire Bradburn (Silverstream)/Enoka Smiler/Monica Smiler (Park Avenue)
  5. Charles Brock (Vikings)/Neville Frost (Caversham)/Graeme Morris (Masterton)
  6. Marilyn Bunce (Alexandra)/Janet Goodin (Caversham)/Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)
  7. Colin Bunce (Alexandra)/Andrew Findlay/Diane Findlay (Christchurch)
  8. Roberta Campbell (Bay View)/Ruby Vakauta (Vikings)/Peter van Heusden (Khandallah)
  9. Sharon Cannon (Bay View)/Pam Jenkins/Joanne Lippard (Herne Bay)
  10. Myles Cowper/Gordon Dykes (Windy Hills)/Nico Toyne (Wanganui East)
  11. Keith Dixon (Christchurch)/Mark Richardson (Caversham)/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  12. Sheryl Earnshaw/Helen-Mary Foley/Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)
  13. Allan Fletcher (Herne Bay)/Andre Noel/Georgio Vakauta (Vikings)
  14. Christian Fouquet (Herne Bay)/Lee Taffard (Bay View)/Dirk Winnie (Park Avenue)
  15. Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East)/Karen Stephens/Chris Taylor (Christchurch)
  16. Lew Gill (Horowhenua)/Bob McCarthy/Magaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  17. Rex Hayes (Kapiti)/Joan Miller/Anna Simms (Masterton)
  18. Andrew Joe/Dean Norman (Windy Hills)/Brian Smith (Silverstream)
  19. Barb Johnston (Masterton)/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  20. Michael Lacoste (Kapiti)/Richard Lawson (Hataitai)/Susan Norman (Windy Hills)
  21. Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  22. David Lippard (Herne Bay)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)/Richard Swaney (Herne Bay)
  23. Phillip Lyall/Sarah Lyall/Cathryn Thomas (Caversham)
  24. Shirley MacDonald (Horowhenua)/Margaret Maher (Northcote)/Ann Shields (Epsom)

PNZ National Shooting Competition

30 March 2012

After the first day of qualifying, Georgio Vakauta (Vikings) leads the standings in the Men's competition with 35 points from Bob Bridge (West End) and Christian Fouquet (Herne Bay), both with 30 points.

In The Women's competition, Joanne Lippard (Herne Bay) leads with 29 points from Christine Strichen (Wanganui East) 26.

The top two qualifiers in each competition will play off for the title on Sunday afternoon.

30 March 2012

After all competitors had taken part in qualifying, there was no change to the top qualifiers. Bob Bridge and Christian Fouquet will have a playoff to determine who faces Georgio Vakauta in the final.

Qualifying scores

PNZ National Triples Championship

31 March 2012

Three teams were unbeaten after the first day's play in the National Triples: Allan Fletcher/Andre Noel/Georgio Vakauta, David Lippard/Michael Rocks/Richard Swaney, and Christian Fouquet/Lee Taffard/Dirk Winnie.

The remaining Championship qualifiers were: Denise Bavidge/Geoff Greer/Murray Porter, Annick Le Guen/Tony Simpson/Alan Taylor, Charles Brock/Neville Frost/Graeme Morris and Andrew Joe/Dean Norman/Brian Smith.

The final spot was claimed by Sharon Cannon/Pam Jenkins/Joanne Lippard who edged out Barb Johnston/Christine Strichen/Claire Wilson on countback.

Pétanque New Zealand Annual General Meeting

31 March 2012

Some brief highlights from the meeting:

Further details will come out in the Minutes.