News Archive - December 2012

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter

PNZ National Senior Doubles

3 December 2012

Thirty-one teams took part in the National Senior Doubles held at Forbury Park in Dunedin. In the Championship final, Clive Bartleet and Bob Bridge beat Neville Frost and Shirley Selwyn 13-6.

Final results

WPA Open Triples

4 December 2012

Seventeen teams have entered the Open Triples, including the defending champions Sharon Cannon, Lee Taffard and Richard Turfrey, to be played at the Manawatu Pétanque club on Saturday. (Previous winners)

  1. Ian Bailey/Keith Lapwood/Les Little (Manawatu)
  2. Lee-Anne Bird/Sue Gurr/Sheryl Parslow (Wanganui East)
  3. Eddie Campbell/Michael Lacoste/Alan Taylor (Kapiti)
  4. Sharon Cannon/Lee Taffard (Bay View)/Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East)
  5. Derek Cooper/Elva Cooper/Pat MacFarlane (Manawatu)
  6. Myles Cowper (Windy Hills)/Nick Jegousee (Upper Hutt)/Michael Rocks (Khandallah)
  7. Barbara Frampton/Brian Frampton (Kapiti)/Steve Frampton (Park Avenue)
  8. Dene Futcher/Christine Strichen (Wanganui East)/Claire Wilson (Masterton)
  9. Yvonne Futcher/Shirley Selwyn/Tony Simpson (Wanganui East)
  10. Jack Gazzard/Brett Maguire/Kevin McFadgen (Kapiti)
  11. Linda Gazzard/Jo Maxwell/Harl Stevens (Kapiti)
  12. Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East)/Richard Lawson (Hataitai)/Annick Le Guen (Kapiti)
  13. Paul Husband (Manawatu)/Trisha Smart (Horowhenua)/Don Thompson (Manawatu)
  14. Joan Judd/Bob McCarthy/Margaret Mordecai (Otaki)
  15. Carole Lacoste/Beth Myles/Judith Williamson (Kapiti)
  16. Sandy MacDonald/Shirley MacDonald/Lynne Teddy (Horowhenua)
  17. Joan Miller/Alison Priddle/Ralph Priddle (Masterton)

Khandallah 3-Boules Triples

4 December 2012

The tournament has been rescheduled to Sunday 17 February 2013.

Wellington Representative team

6 December 2012

The Wellington team to play against Hawke's Bay for the Haines Cup is:

Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East), Sue Gurr (Wanganui East), Rex Hayes (Kapiti), Richard Lawson (Hataitai), Annick Le Guen (Kapiti), Bob McCarthy (Otaki), Margaret Mordecai (Otaki), Tony Simpson (Wanganui East), Christine Strichen (Wanganui East), Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East), Peter van Heusden (Khandallah), Claire Wilson (Masterton)

The match will be played at the Manawatu Pétanque club, Palmerston North on Sunday 9 December. Previous results

Hawke's Bay Representative team

7 December 2012

The Hawke's Bay team to defend the Haines Cup against Wellington is:

Denis Bavidge (Bay View), Maurice Belz (Bay View), Sharon Cannon (Bay View), Geoff Greer (Bay View), Peter Horgan (HBLT), Simon Hurley (Napier City), Robin Johnston (HBLT), John Maxwell (HBLT), Pam Nicholson (Napier City), Murray Porter (Bay View), Lee Taffard (Napier City), Robert Wilson (HBLT)

WPA Open Triples

8 December 2012

Sharon Cannon, Lee Taffard and Richard Turfrey successfully defended their Wellington Open Triples title when they beat Myles Cowper, Nick Jegousse and Michael Rocks 13-11 in the final. Final Results

Haines Cup

9 December 2012

Hawke's Bay successfully defended the Haines Cup for the first time when they beat Wellington in the annual match at the Manawatu club.

WPA Committee Meeting

12 December 2012

The draft Minutes of the Committee meeting of Thursday 8 November are now available.

Change of date for 2013 Interclub Finals

17 December 2012

Due to a change of date by PNZ for the NZ Triples Championship at Park Avenue it is necessary to change the date of the WPA interclub finals from 13 April to 20 April. Same proposed format remains.


PNZ National Rankings

21 December 2012

The top three players on the National Ranking list, Georgio Vakauta, Andre Noel and Allan Fletcher, retain their positions, but immediately below the top tier there has been quite a lot of change.

Barbara Johnston is the top ranked female player and Charles Brock the top ranked Senior.

Points of note are:

PNZ National Rankings - Top 20 players
 Nov 12Nov 11
Vakauta, GeorgioVikings23.00124.001
Noel, AndreVikings22.00223.002
Fletcher, AllanHerne Bay21.33322.003
Fouquet, ChristianHerne Bay21.20420.005=
Lippard, DavidHerne Bay20.80519.607
Belz, MauriceBay View20.50620.504
Swaney, RichardHerne Bay20.007=Not Ranked
Winnie, DirkPark Avenue20.007=18.0010
Rocks, MichaelKhandallah19.00919.008
Brock, CharlesKennedy Park17.3310=15.0014
Greer, GeoffBay View17.3310=Not Ranked
Porter, MurrayBay View17.3310=17.3312
Bridge, BobHibiscus Coast16.671314.8015
Johnston, BarbaraMasterton16.0014=11.6022
Peachey, BillHibiscus Coast16.0014=14.5016
Bartleet, CliveVikings15.201613.6018=
Morris, GraemeMasterton15.001712.0020=
Wilson, ClaireMasterton14.401811.0024=
Strichen, ChristineWanganui East13.601913.6018=
Frost, NevilleCaversham13.502011.0024=

Note: The list shows Players who have competed in a minimum of 3 National Championships in the last 2 years.

The official rankings have not been updated recently, but some inspired guess work suggests that this unofficial list should be reasonably accurate.

Asian Championship

31 December 2012

The 16th Asian Federation Pétanque Championship was held in Hanoi, Vietnam from 12 to 16 December. Over 160 players from fourteen countries took part.

Final results were:



Thailand 1;
Vietnam 2;
Laos, Chinese Taipei 3 equal.


Thailand II 1;
Malaysia 2;
Thailand I, Vietnam I 3 equal.



Cambodia 1;
Vietnam I 2;
Thailand, Vietnam II 3 equal.


China 1;
Vietnam I 2;
Malaysia, Thailand 3 equal.


Thailand II 1;
Cambodia 2;
Thailand I, Vietnam II 3 equal.



Vietnam II 1;
Thailand 2;
Malaysia, Chinese Taipei 3 equal.


Thailand 1;
Vietnam II 2;
Malaysia, Vietnam 1 3 equal.


Vietnam I 1;
Laos 2;
Malaysia, Thailand 3 equal.

Mixed Doubles

Thailand 1;
Vietnam II 2;
Indonesia, Vietnam I 3 equal.