News Archive - February 2011

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed

2 Boules Doubles

2 February 2011

Over twenty players took part in the two twilight 2 Boules Doubles twilight events at Khandallah last month. The rules for this form of the game are now available.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy

5 February 2011

After two rounds, Park Avenue led Wanganui East 4-2 in their away defence and required just one further game to retain the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy. However, Wanganui East won all three games to pip Park Avenue at the post. Wanganui East's first defence is at home to Silverstream.

Results (Park Avenue names first)
Singles: Graeme Pilcher vs. Dene Futcher 13-10, 13-8, 6-13;
Doubles: Barbara Nicholls/Tangi Rasmussen vs. Rachel Gorniot/Ken Heywood 3-13, 5-13, 6-13;
Triples: Steve Frampton/Robin Mann/Tommy Werry vs. Sandra Carston/Brian Futcher/Mike O'Donnell 13-5, 13-11, 11-13.
Score: Park Avenue 4, Wanganui East 5

Challenge History

Hawke's Bay Summer Doubles

6 February 2011

2011 Hawke's Bay Summer Doubles winners

Nineteen teams took part in the annual Hawke's Bay Summer Doubles tournament at Bay View. In the Trophy final, Maurice Belz and Lee Taffard beat Trevor Neilson and Bryan Wells.

Trevor Neilson won the beachfront apartment weekend for two.

Final results

WPA Committee Meeting

6 February 2011

The next WPA Committee will be held on Thursday 24 February 2011 at the Silverstream Pétanque club. The start time is 7:00 pm.

Items for General Business should be forwarded to the Secretary.

Provisional Agenda

Training Games

7 February 2011

Michael Rocks has added some more training games to the Coaching Resources.

WPA Inter-club 2011

8 February 2011

The results from Day One are now available.

WPA Discussion Forum

9 February 2011

The Wellington Pétanque Association website is primarily a Journal of Record. This website records the activities of the WPA, such as Committee Meetings and tournament results. From time to time other snippets of interest are included.

As a communication mechanism for the Association's members the website is a passive mechanism, much like a newspaper. It is no coincidence that the main page is simply titled News.


WPA Inter-club 2011

16 February 2011

The results from Day Two are now available.

Trans Tasman Open team

18 February 2011

The New Zealand Open team to play against Australia in May is:


Sharon Cannon (Bay View), Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East), Barbara Johnston (Masterton), Christine Strichen (Wanganui East), Christine Taylor (Christchurch), Claire Wilson (Masterton)


Ian Baker (Herne Bay), Christian Fouquet (Herne Bay), David Lippard (Herne Bay), Michael Rocks (Khandallah), Richard Swaney (Herne Bay), Lee Taffard (Bay View).

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles

20 February 2011

Elizabeth and Michael Rocks were undefeated in winning the Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles. In the third round they came from behind to beat Mike Kennedy and Christophe Vesse (who went on to claim outright second place). Final results

Rotorua Open Doubles

21 February 2011

Due to lack of entries the Rotorua Open Doubles tournament for 2011 has been cancelled.

National Youth Tournament - postponement; and Trans Tasman Youth Team

24 February 2011

Following the devastating earthquake in Christchurch, the PNZ Youth Tournament scheduled for 9 & 10 April has been postponed.

A new date (and possibly venue) will be advised in due course.

The Youth Tournament was to be used to help find a youth team to participate in this year's Trans Tasman Challenge, being held in Melbourne on May 21 & 22.

As this is now not possible, PNZ is instead asking for expressions of interest from eligible players to compete in the Challenge.

Conditions are:

Barbara Whittington
PNZ Secretary

Trans Tasman Senior team

26 February 2011

The New Zealand Senior team to play against Australia in May is:


Claire Bradburn (Silverstream), Marilyn Bunce (Alexandra), Diane Findlay (Christchurch), Margaret Maher (Northcote), Joan Miller (Masterton), Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)


Charles Brock (Kennedy Park), Neville Frost (Caversham), Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Graeme Morris (Masterton), Ralph Priddle (Masterton), John Targett (Christchurch).

WBS Open Triples

27 February 2011

2011 WBS Triples winners

Morgan Choveaux, Shirley Selwyn and Nico Toyne won the fourteenth edition of the WBS Open Triples held at the Masterton club. In the final they beat Yvonne Futcher, Barbara Johnston and Christine Strichen.

The Plate was won by Kath Alison, Kaye Alison and Fay Doyle. The Bowl was won by Brian Frampton, Bob McCarthy and Margaret Mordecai.

Final results