News Archive - March 2010

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed


2 March 2010

A reminder that the Annual General Meeting will be held on Thursday 4 March, 7:30 pm at the Silverstream Bowling Club, Dunns Street, Silverstream.



4 March 2010

Brief notes: Richard Turfrey was elected as WPA President. There is a vacancy for Secretary. Michael Rocks was re-elected as Treasurer and is Acting Secretary until the next meeting. Minutes to come.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy

6 March 2010

Park Avenue successfully defended the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy for the sixth time when they played away at Khandallah.

Results (Park Avenue names first)
Singles: Enoka Smiler vs. Michael Rocks 6-13, 13-8, 2-13;
Doubles: Robin Mann/Monica Smiler vs. Bernadette Lawton/Peter van Heusden 8-13, 13-4, 11-13;
Triples: Barbara Nicholls/Graeme Pilcher/Dirk Winnie vs. Morgan Healey/Elizabeth Rocks/Nick Watson 13-0, 13-6, 13-7.
Score: Park Avenue 5, Khandallah 4

Park Avenue's next defence is away to Otaki.

Tournament history

Rotorua Open Doubles

7 March 2010

Charles Peni and Aussie Samuel, the 2004 winners, defeated Christian Fouquet and Andre Noel, the 2009 winners, in the final of the Rotorua Open Doubles.


Jacques Cochonnet Trophy

21 March 2010

Park Avenue successfully defended the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy for the sixth time when they played away at Otaki.

Results (Park Avenue names first)
Singles: Enoka Smiler vs. Bob Wilde 9-13, 13-10, 13-11;
Doubles: Monica Smiler/Dirk Winnie vs. Ted Burr/Gary Brunton 13-12, 3-13, 10-13;
Triples: Robin Mann/Graeme Pilcher/Tangi Rasmussen vs. Marty Magee/Bob McCarthy/Maragret Mordecai 13-2, 10-13, 11-13.
Score: Park Avenue 4, Otaki

Otaki's first defence is away to neighbours Horowhenua.

Tournament history

Pan Pacific Championships

22 March 2010

New Zealand teams have enjoyed some success at the Pan Pacific Championships which concluded yesterday in Singapore.

Jared Handford/David Lippard/Andre Noel were third in the Trophy while Ian Baker/Maurice Belz/Richard Swaney made the quarter-finals of the Coupe des Nations (Plate) after missing out on points differential from qualifying for the Trophy.

In the Shooting competition Andre Noel was placed third.

PNZ Representative Team

23 March 2010

The New Zealand Open Representative team to play against Australia in the Trans Tasman match in May is:

Women: Sharon Cannon (Bay View), Pam Jenkins (Herne Bay), Barbara Johnston (Masterton), Christine Strichen (Wanganui East), Christine Taylor (Christchurch), Tina Targett (Christchurch)

Men: Maurice Belz (Bay View), Christian Fouquet (Herne Bay), David Lippard (Herne Bay), Michael Rocks (Khandallah), Ron Sandilands (Cockle Bay), Richard Swaney (Herne Bay)

Note: The NZ Senior team to play against Australia was announced on 15 February 2010.

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy draw

27 March 2010

The draw for Round 14 was conducted at the close of play on the first day of the Regional Triples.

Note: All 12 clubs have been included in the draw for Round 14. The winner of the final Round 13 match between Otaki and Horowhenua will drop out of the draw for Round 14 (see Article 3).

WPA Regional Triples

28 March 2010

Myles Cowper and Peter van Heusden both won their first Regional title when they teamed with Michael Rocks to win the Regional Triples Championship at Kapiti. In the final they beat Grant Bray, Pete Hamilton and Dirk Winnie 13-9.

Michael Rocks beomes the second player to complete a Regional Grand Slam in a single season. Brian Smith first achieved this feat in the 1999-2000 season.

Final results

Updated Regional Seeding List