News Archive - June 2010

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed

World Championship

1 June 2010

FIPJP has announced that the Taiwan Federation has withdrawn as hosts for the 2010 World Championship.

WPA Regional Awards

5 June 2010

The Award winners were announced at the beginning of the Mid-Winter Doubles. Certificates will be presented at a later date.

Masterton Mid-Winter Doubles

6 June 2010

Maurice Belz and Dirk Winnie won the Masterton Mid-Winter Doubles title by beating Michael Rocks and Nico Toyne in the Trophy final.

Final results

Horowhenua Mid-Winter Triplesles

12 June 2010

Twenty-two teams took part in the Horowhenua Mid-Winter Triples. The Trophy section was won by Brent Longhurst, Bryan Wells and Peter Williams.

Final results

2010 Oceania Championships

14 June 2010

The New Zealand team for the Oceania Championship is:


Roberta Campbell (Bay View), Pam Jenkins (Herne Bay), Barbara Johnston (Masterton), Christine Strichen (Wanganui East), Tina Targett (Christchurch), Christine Taylor (Christchurch)


Maurice Belz (Bay View), Christian Fouquet (Herne Bay), David Lippard (Herne Bay), Michael Rocks (Khandallah), Ron Sandilands (Cockle Bay), Richard Swaney (Herne Bay)

The coach is John Targett (Christchurch).

The Oceania Championships will be held in New Caledonia from 31 August to 4 September.

15 June 2010

Claire Bradburn (Silverstream) has replaced Roberta Campbell in the Women's team and Lee Taffard (Napier) has replaced Maurice Belz in the Men's team.

27 June 2010

Claire Wilson (Masterton) has replaced Pam Jenkins (Herne Bay) in the Women's team.

Wellington Representative team

21 June 2010

The Wellington team to play against Auckland for the Chanticleer Cup is:

Morgan Choveaux (Windy Hills), Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East), Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Doug Hay (Masterton), Helene Hay (Masterton), Margaret Mordecai (Otaki), Graeme Morris (Masterton), Ralph Priddle (Masterton), Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East), Richard Turfrey (Wanganui East), Peter van Huesden (Khandallah), Dirk Winnie (Park Avenue)

The Chanticleer Cup match will be played in Auckland over the weekend of 21 & 22 August.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy Challenge

26 June 2010

After eight games, with the scores locked at 4-4, it all came down to the final game of Triples. Windy Hills won the game 13-11 to claim the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy for the second time.

Results (Kapiti names first)
Singles: Fay Doyle vs. Dean Norman 12-13, 10-13, 13-12;
Doubles: Kath Alison/Harl Stevens vs. Morgan Choveaux/Bernadette Lawton 3-13, 13-10, 13-0;
Triples: Rex Hayes/Annick Le Guen/Alan Taylor vs. Myles Cowper/Neil Dykes/Susan Norman 13-9, 1-13, 11-13.
Score: Kapiti 4, Windy Hills 5

Windy Hills' first defence is away to Manawatu.

Tournament history

Kapiti Memorial Melee

27 June 2010

Sixty-eight players braved the damp, cold and a part flooded piste to contest the annual Memorial Melee.

Playing five timed games with a lunch break for skill competitions it was a busy social event.

Plenty of food and hot drinks 'fueled' players between games and the day concluded with a prize giving at 3:30 in the afternoon, just as the sun made an appearance.

Top Dogs on the day were:-

Report: Terry Dawson