News Archive - March 2009

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed

WBS Open Triples

1 March 2009

Myles Cowper, Sebastien Merval and Lee Taffard defeated Kath Alison, Kaye Alison and Fay Doyle in the final to win the WBS Open Triples.

The Plate was won by Barbara Johnston, Joan Miller and Ralph Priddle from Eddie King, John King and Tony Mudgway.

Full results

Wellington Representative team

2 March 2009

The Wellington Senior Representative team for the tournament in Christchurch on April 18 & 19 is:

Peter Dennett (Haitaitai), Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Margaret Mordecai (Otaki), Graeme Morris (Masterton), Ralph Priddle (Masterton), Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East).

Team members are to make themselves available for training on Sunday, March 29. Venue to be advised.

Congratulations to all those selected. Please contact Dirk to confirm your place in the team.

National Club Championships

3 March 2009


Due to the lack of response from Clubs it is not viable for the National Club Championships to take place in May 2009.

The new concept will be looked at again in 2010.

To those Clubs who did respond thank you.

Trevor Neilson
Technical Director of Tournaments

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge Trophy

8 March 2009

After a 4 month hiatus, a challenge match has been played. New holders Wanganui East were unsuccessful in their first defence against Windy Hills going down 2 games to 7.

Results (Wanganui East names first)
Singles: Christine Strichen vs. Zac Rees 0-3;
Doubles: Yvonne Futcher/Nico Toyne vs. Leon Crosse/Neil Dykes 1-2;
Triples: Dene Futcher/Pete Hamilton/Richard Turfrey vs. Myles Cowper/Tack Daniel/Sebastien Merval 1-2.
Score: Wanganui East 2, Windy Hills 7

Tournament history

Anzac Doubles

8 March 2009

Christian Fouquet and Andre Noel won their third Anzac Doubles (previous wins in 2002, 2005) by beating the 2004 champions Charles Peni and Aussie Samuel 13-9 in the final.

Partial results

National Club Championships

11 March 2009


Having fired an early shot by cancelling the National Club Championships, a number of Clubs have now come back to me wanting to join the fray.

Now we have the numbers to be viable it is all back on, same place, Rotorua, same weekend 16/17 May 2009.

I will make up an Entry form and we will distribute it and place it on the Web shortly.

Thank you for your responses and returned enthusiasm.

However it has shown that there is not enough interest in a Seniors Division so it will be Open teams only but the team of Seniors who is placed the highest in the Tournament will be crowned top Senior Team.

All the details about the Tournament are on the PNZ website (2009 tournament documents not archived).

Trevor Neilson
Technical Director of Tournaments

NZ Representative process

13 March 2009

The Coach and Manager for the two Trans Tasman teams have been announced by PNZ.

Open team

Coach - Grant Hackett (West End), Manager - Lorraine Brock (Kennedy Park)

Senior team

Coach - Trevor Neilson (Rotorua), Manager - Murray Porter (Bay View).

WPA Inter-club Round 5

14 March 2009

Park Avenue are the West Zone champions and Windy Hills the East Zone champions (on count-back from Kapiti and Wanganui East) at the completion of the five qualifying rounds.

Results from Round 5. Draw for semi-finals and finals to be played on May 2.

NZ Representative process

18 March 2009

The Open team to play against Australia in Sydney in May is:


Sharon Cannon (Bay View), Pam Jenkins (Herne Bay), Barbara Johnston (Masterton), Joanne Lippard (Herne Bay), Laurel Priestley (Herne Bay), Claire Wilson (Masterton).


Ian Baker (Herne Bay), Maurice Belz (Bay View), Christian Fouquet (Herne Bay), David Lippard (Herne Bay), Andre Noel (Victoria Park), Dirk Winnie (Khandallah).

The players will compete in their Triples combinations at the National Triples at Park Park Avenue (4/5 April).

WPA Regional Triples Championship

22 March 2009

Youth triumphed over experience in the final of the Regional Triples. Morgan Choveaux, Nikki Merval and Nico Toyne beat Susan Norman, Shirley Selwyn and Richard Turfrey in the final.


Updated Seeding list

WPA Champion of Champions - Triples

25 March 2009

Eight clubs are taking part in the tournament to be held at Otaki on Saturday. The clubs represented are: Horowhenua, Kapiti, Manawatu, Otaki, Park Avenue, Silverstream, Upper Hutt, and Wanganui East.

The start time is 9:30 am. The teams will be drawn into pools of four with a barrage format used. The top two teams in each pool will advance to the semi-finals. The Tournament Controller is Beverley Mason.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy

28 March 2009

Windy Hills were successful in their first defence away to Horowhenua. Windy Hills' next defence is away to Manawatu.

Results (Windy Hills names first)
Singles: Jason Andersen vs. Gale Eddie 13-9, 13-10, 13-11;
Doubles: Tack Daniels/Zac Rees vs. Carleen Fitzgerald/Shona Whale 13-1, 13-8, 13-5;
Triples: Myles Cowper/Neil Dykes/Nikki Merval vs. Rosemary Barrack/June Cave/Bryan Wells 13-11, 13-1, 13-3.
Score: Windy Hills 9, Horowhanua 0

Tournament history

WPA Champion of Champions Triples

28 March 2009

Ian Bailey, Steve Frampton and Rachel Gorniot from the Manawatu club won the Champion of Champions Triples at Otaki defeating the Wanganui East team of Dene Futcher, Peter Hamilton, and Christine Strichen.