News Archive - December 2009

News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed

Latest Updates

1 December 2009

Results from the Women's Doubles, Women's Triples and Regional Senior Doubles have been made available.

Joan Miller and Ralph Priddle (Masterton) retained their Senior Doubles title by defeating Ted Burr and Bob McCarthy (Otaki) in the final.

PNZ National Rankings

2 December 2009

Pete Hamilton has stormed up the National Rankings to be Wellington's top ranked player in fourth equal spot. Joan Miller has displaced Claire Wilson to be the Region's top ranked female player (25).

Georgio Vakauta has retained the number one spot.

Points of note are:

PNZ National Rankings - Top 20 players
 Dec 10Dec 09
Vakauta, GeorgioVikings22.50122.501
Noel, AndreVikings22.00221.002
Belz, MauriceBay View20.80317.607
Sandilands, RonCockle Bay20.70416.679=
Taffard, LeeNapier19.60516.0013
Toyne, NicoWanganui East19.30614.5018=
Fouquet, ChristianHerne Bay18.80719.603
Baker, IanHerne Bay17.00816.5012
Rocks, MichaelKhandallah16.80917.676
Greer, GeoffBay View15.3010=10.0029=
Lippard, DavidHerne Bay15.3010=16.679=
Hamilton, PeteWanganui East15.201218.004=
Lippard, JoanneHerne Bay14.701313.3322
Winnie, DirkPark Avenue14.401414.0020=
Porter, MurrayBay View14.001511.6028
Brock, CharlesKennedy Park13.3016Not ranked
Cannon, SharonBay View12.801715.5014=
McKenzie, CraigHerne Bay12.7018Not ranked
Joe, AndrewWindy Hills12.301913.2023
Hay, DougMasterton11.70209.5034=

Note: The list shows Players who have competed in a minimum of 3 National Championships in the last 2 years.

Haines Cup - Wellington vs. Hawke's Bay

4 December 2009

The Wellington team to play against Hawke's Bay is:

Morgan Choveaux (Kapiti), Myles Cowper (Windy Hills), Yvonne Futcher (Wanganui East), Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Doug Hay (Masterton), Helene Hay (Masterton), Graeme Morris (Masterton), Ralph Priddle (Masterton), Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East), Christine Strichen (Wanganui East), Nico Toyne (Wanganui East), Dirk Winnie (Khandallah).

The Hawke's Bay team is:

Maurice Manuel-Belz, Roberta Campbell, Sharon Cannon, Geoff Greer, Ian Hay, Simon Hurley, Barbara Lucas-Creagh, Johnny Maxwell, Gordon Ogden, Murray Porter, Lee Tafford, Robert Wilson.

The match will be played at the Manawatu Pétanque club, 74 North Street, Palmerston North on Sunday 13 December from 10:00 am.

PNZ National Senior Doubles

6 December 2009

In a reversal of last year's result in Tauranga, Bob Bridge and Bill Peachey beat defending champions Doug and Helene Hay to win the National Senior Doubles title.

Full results

WPA Open Triples

12 December 2009

Barbara Nicholls, Ralph Priddle and Christine Strichen won the WPA Open Triples title defeating Myles Cowper, Michael Rocks and Ron Sandilands 13-12 in the final.

The Plate was won by Morgan Choveaux, Pete Hamilton and Shirley Selwyn. The Bowl was won by Doug Hay, Helene Hay and Ian Hay.

Full results

Haines Cup match

13 December 2009

Wellington regained the Haines Cup in dramatic fashion by winning the last Triples game with the last boule to finish the match 25-23.

Further details to come.

PNZ Representative team

23 December 2009

The New Zealand players to take part in the Pan Pacific Championships in Singapore in March 2010 are:

Ian Baker (Herne Bay), Maurice Belz (Bay View), Jared Handford (Christchurch), David Lippard (Herne Bay), Andre Noel (Mt Albert Vikings), Richard Swaney (Herne Bay)

The Manager is Lorraine Brock.

We're Moving

31 December 2009

After eight years we have outgrown the capabilities of our website hosting provider. Consequently we will be moving to a new host.

To make the changeover easy, please make sure that you are using to access this website and not anything based on