News Archive - April 2009

News Archive | Subscribe to News

WPA Committee Meeting

1 April 2009

Minutes of WPA meeting on 19 February attached. Agenda for the next meeting which will be held on Thursday 16 April at Kapiti Petanque Club at 7.30pm to follow.

Beverley Mason
Secretary, WPA

Note: These minutes are unconfirmed until such time as they are accepted at the next meeting.

PNZ Annual General Meeting

4 April 2009

Brief highlights:

Full details will appear in the Minutes.

PNZ National Triples

5 April 2009

Andrew Joe, Graeme Morris and Dean Norman defeated Pete Hamilton, Lee Taffard and Nico Toyne 13-3 to win the National Triples Championship at Park Avenue.

For only the third time in fifteen years, the National Triples Champions are not an Auckland (or predominantly Auckland) based team. This is the second time that a Wellington region team has won the National Triples (last achieved in 2004).

Full Results

WPA Committee Meeting

11 April 2009

Agenda for the WPA meeting on 16 April at Kapiti Pétanque Club at 7:30pm attached. Please make sure your representative brings this to the meeting.

Beverley Mason
Secretary WPA

Southern Triangular

18 April 2009

A txt report from down South.

At the end of Day one, the Canterbury team leads the competition. Wellington has been in several tight games losing four of them 12-13.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy

19 April 2009

Once again Windy Hills were on the road with the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy, this time at Manawatu. This was Manawatu's first challenge and they were not disgraced in losing 3-6.

Results (Windy Hills names first)
Singles: Tack Daniels vs. Rachel Gorniot 13-3, 13-4, 9-13;
Doubles: Myles Cowper/Sebastien Merval vs. Ian Bailey/Cath Hughes 13-1, 13-5, 13-6;
Triples: Jason Andersen/Nikki Merval/Zac Rees vs. Stephen Frampton/Les Little/Sheila Pepper 13-3, 5-13, 12-13.
Score: Windy Hills 6, Manawatu 3

Tournament history

WPA Women's Singles

19 April 2009

Eighteen entries have been received for the Women's Singles to be played at Horowhenua Pétanque Club on Saturday 25 April. The start time is 8:30 for 9:00 am.

Southern Triangular

19 April 2009

Wellington were unable to peg back the deficit and finished runner-up to Canterbury with Southern third. Like the first day, a significant proportion of games were lost by 3 or fewer points.

Full results to come.

WPA Women's Singles

25 April 2009

Monica Smiler (Park Avenue) is the new Women's Singles champion after defeating the 2008 Champion Margaret Mordecai (Otaki) in the final.

Twenty players took part in the one-day event held at the Horowhenua terrain.

Final placings

HBLT Autumn Triples

26 April 2009

Eighteen teams took part in the HBLT Autumn Triples played over Anzac Weekend. In the final Peter Horgan, Georgio Vakauta and Dirk Winnie defeated Pete Hamilton, Shirley Selwyn and Peter van Heusden.

Partial results

Tournament Sub-committee News

29 April 2009

The dates for the Winter Doubles are: Sunday 7 June, Sunday 28 June, Sunday 19 July and Sunday 9 August. The entry forms will be available next week. The format will be much like last year.