News Archive - October 2008

News Archive | Subscribe to News

WPA Champion of Champions - Singles

4 October 2008

Gary Brunton (Otaki) won the Champion of Champions - Singles title by defeating Michael Rocks (Khandallah) 13-10 in the final played at Upper Hutt. The win reversed their first round result.

Full results

Khandallah Open Triples

5 October 2008

Jason Andersen, Myles Cowper and Andrew Joe won the Khandallah Open Triples beating Gerald Bryan, Richard Lawson and John Mosss 13-7 in the final. The win reversed their first round result.

Full results

Jacques Cochonnet Challenge

12 October 2008

Hataitai were successful in their first defence of the Jacques Cochonnet trophy away to Upper Hutt.

Results: (Hataitai names first)
Singles: Erica Drake vs. Jeanne Zee 10-13, 13-7, 7-13;
Doubles: Gerald Bryan/Christophe Vesse vs. Mike Kennedy/Don Mekalick 13-11, 13-6, 13-8;
Triples: Peter Dennett/Richard Lawson/Catherine Maher vs. Patrick Smith/Kathy Taylor/Alison Zuppicich 9-13, 13-12, 12-13.
Final result: Hataitai 5, Upper Hutt 4.

Hataitai's next defence is at away to Khandallah.

Tournament history

PNZ National Singles

12 October 2008

Michael Rocks (Khandallah) won the first national championship of the season when he beat Branko Cvjetan (Caversham) 13-9 in the final of the National Singles held in Alexandra.

Thirty-six players took part in the first National Championship to be held in the South Island, outside of Christchurch.

Full results

XI Women's World Championships

12 October 2008

New Zealand's results at the World Champs were:

Group B

          1  2  3  4  5  Pts
 1. Tunisa    X 13 13 13 13  5
 2. Austria    4  X  9 13 13  3
 3. England    4 13  X  8  7  2
 4. Belarus    7 10 13  X  1  2
 5. New Zealand  6  1 13 13  X  3

Unlike 2006 where the Nation's Cup started with a barrage round, this time the team was straight into a knockout. New Zealand lost their first round match to Taiwan 6-13 and this ended their tournament.

In the Shooting competition, Laurel Priestley scored 18 in round 1 and 20 in round 2.

XI Women's World Championships

13 October 2008

Spain are the new Women's World Champions after they beat Thailand A in final. Spain started well reaching 8 points before Thailand scored their first point. Thailand fought back, but they could not pull back the Spanish head start. The final score was 13-10.

In the semi-finals, Thailand A beat Thailand B, the 2006 World Championship team, 13-8, while Spain beat France 13-4.

The Nations Cup was won by Belgium who beat Switzerland 13-12.

In the Shooting competition, Angelique Papon (France) retained her title beating Karin Rudolphs (Holland). The bronze medallists were Thongsri Thamakord (Thailand) and Mouna Beji (Tunisia).

WPA Committee Meeting Minutes

20 October 2008

Minutes of the 11 September WPA Committee meeting

Note: These minutes are unconfirmed until such time as they are accepted at the next meeting.

Wellington Representative team

25 October 2008

The Wellington team to play against Canterbury and the Southern Region in Christchurch on 29/30 November includes three players making their regional debut: Pete Hamilton, Tony Mudgway and Michael Rocks.

The full Wellington team is: Myles Cowper (Windy Hills), Peter Dennett (Hataitai), Pete Hamilton (Wanganui East), Graeme Morris (Masterton), Tony Mudgway (Wanganui East) and Michael Rocks (Khandallah).

WPA Regional Doubles Championship

26 October 2008

Thirty-two teams part in the Regional Doubles Championship played at Kapiti over the weekend. In the Championship final, Nicolas Jegousse (Park Avenue) and Michael Rocks (Khandallah) beat Andrew Joe and Dean Norman (Windy Hills) 13-10.

In third place were Joan Miller/Claire Wilson (Masterton) and Shirley Selwyn (Wanganui East)/Peter van Heusden (Khandallah).

Full results. Updated Seeding list (not archived)

WPA Regional Senior Doubles Championship

29 October 2008

Jan McHardy and Pat Scholes (Kapiti) were pipped at the post for the second year running when they lost the Championship final (5-13) to Joan Miller and Ralph Priddle (Masterton).

Last year's champions, Kath and Kaye Alison were third equal with the 2006 Champions, John Mason and Peter Williams.

Full results