WPA logo

Welcome to the website of Pétanque Wellington. On these pages you will find information regarding the game of Pétanque, also known as Boules or French Bowls, within the lower North Island of New Zealand.

Please take some time to browse through the site and we welcome your feedback (webmaster@petanque.org.nz).


News Archive | Subscribe to News News Feed
Follow Wellington Pétanque on Twitter Twitter
Follow WellyPetanque on Instagram Instagram

Trans Tasman match

26 March 2015

A report on the Trans Tasman appeared in the Otago Daily Times.

Horowhenua Anzac Mêlée

26 March 2015

The entry form for the Horowhenua Anzac Mêlée (26 April) is now available.

Champion of Champions - Triples

23 March 2015

Six clubs took part in the Champion of Champions - Triples at Otaki on Sunday. Wanganui East finished ahead of Otaki on tie-break (who-beat-who).

WPA Inter-club

23 March 2015

Kapiti won Division One of the inter-club competition beating Hataitai in the final. Manawatu won the Division Two final against Upper Hutt.

Final results

Manawatu National Lost Sock Memorial Day Mêlée

22 March 2015

The entry form for the Manawatu National Lost Sock Memorial Day Mêlée (9 May) is now available.

WPA Women's Singles Championship

21 March 2015

The closing date for entries for the Women's Singles is 2 April. (WPA Women's Singles Championship entry form)

WPA Committee Meeting

19 March 2015

The agenda for the next WPA Committee meeting to be held at the Kapiti Pétanque club on Thursday, 9 April.

Jacques Cochonnet Trophy match

16 March 2015

The last Challenge match of round 20 saw Kapiti attempt to wrestle the Jacques Cochonnet Trophy away from Masterton. Unfortunately their challenge came up short as Masterton won the match 7 games to two. Result

The draw for Round 21 will be made at the next WPA Committee meeting.

WPA Committee Meeting

15 March 2015

The next meeting of the WPA Committee will be held on Thursday, 9 April 2015 at Kapiti Club at 7:30 pm. Please send me any items for the agenda, plus the appropriate paper work by Wednesday, 19 March 2015 and I will send the agenda out on Thursday, 20 March 2015.

Colleen Horton

Trans Tasman match

15 March 2015

New Zealand won the Open division with a round to spare, the final result was NZ 68, Australia 52. New Zealand has now won the Open 8 years in a row and after 13 events now leads 10-3 overall.

The New Zealand Senior team went into the final round needing to win one of the six games. They managed to win two games and finished with 63 points to 57. New Zealand has now won 8 of the 11 matches played.

Initial Match result | Trans Tasman Summary

14 March 2015

NZ leads in both divisions at the end of Day one. The Open team won 5 of 8 Triples and 12 of 18 Doubles games to lead Australia by 39 to 21 match points.

The Senior team won 5 of 8 Triples and 10 of 18 Doubles to lead Australia by 35 to 25 match points.

With 60 points available tomorrow there is still plenty to play for.

13 March 2015

Pyrenees Pétanque club

Members of the NZ Senior team practicising at the Pyrenees Pétanque club (Avoca, Victoria) terrain prior to the Trans Tasman match which starts tomorrow.

Check the Twitter feed for updates during the day.

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles

9 March 2015

Last Tuesday the Upper Hutt City Council dumped two loads of crushed lime on the Maidstone Park terrain and after some frantic shovelling and raking over the next few days, along with a decent downpour on Saturday night, everything was ready for the Swiss Doubles on Sunday.

Twenty teams took part in the thirteenth Swiss Doubles, and with good weather and music from the Marching competition next door, a enjoyable day was had by all.

Upper Hutt Swiss Doubles winners

In the final round, the two unbeaten teams Lorraine Gibbons/Jeanne Zee and Beth Miles/Harl Stevens faced off, with the former claiming the trophy 13-9.

Final results

Murrayfield Open Triples

9 March 2015

The entry form for the Murrayfield Open Triples (17 May) in Otaki is now available.

Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples

4 March 2015

The entry form for the Hawke's Bay Autumn Triples (18/19 April) is now available.

PNZ National Triples Championship

1 March 2015

The National Triples concluded in Christchurch with an epic final between the undefeated National Women's Triples team of Sharon Cannon, Christine Strichen and Claire Wilson (the Girls) facing Ian Baker, Bob Bridge and Ray Pierce (the Boys) in the Arena.

In the twelfth end, with the scores tied at 8-8, the Boys gained what appeared to be a winning advantage, holding 4 with one to play. Unfortunately, a stray bounce of the last boule moved the cochonnet to the Girls' boule.

Two ends later the Girls held boule advantage, only for Ian to shoot the cochonnet to save the game. Finally, on the seventeenth end, the Boys again took the upper hand to score 3 and win the match 13-11.

Progress score: (B-G) 0-1, 0-2, 0-4, 1-4, 1-5, 2-5, 5-5, 5-7, 7-7, 8-7, 8-8, 8-9, 8-11, 8-11, 9-11, 10-11, 13-11.

National Triples winners

Final results

National Shooting Competition

27 February 2015

Fifteen men and nine women took part in the qualifying round of the National Shooting competition held in conjunction with the National Triples at Christchurch.

In the final tomorrow, two South Island players, Stephane Montel (Christchurch) and Richard Browne (Ashburton) will be in the Men's final. The Women's final will feature two North Island players, Sharon Cannon (Bay View) and Claire Bradburn (Silverstream).

28 February 2015

Stephane Montel (Christchurch) won the Men's Shooting competition and Sharon Cannon (Bay View) won the Women's competition.

Pétanque Badges

26 February 2015

Pétanque badges Pétanque badges from the collection of Rex and Shirley Hayes.

WPA Regional Seedings

24 February 2015

The Regional Seeding points have been updated using the results from the Regional Triples.

Regional Seedings | Explanation of the Seeding system